Art Exhibition ReviewsDatabasesFull Text
Art Book Reviews
Print Reference
Art History Ceramic Materials (ART 1131)Illustrated Bartsch Modern Graphic History Library Painting Top 10 Resources for Art StudentsWriting an Artist's Statement
Finding Digital Images 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Art  Tags: art studio_arts fine_arts  

A guide to research in Art.
Last update: Sep 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Art Book Reviews             Print Page
  
 

Art Book Reviews

Sources for Art Book Reviews

Reviews in the Art Databases

Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Art Full Text (1984 - present)

At the initial screen select one or both databases & then the Search Plus option.
From the article type pull-down menu, choose book review, then further limit to
peer reviewed journals for scholarly reviews

example: Title: vermeer's camera Article type: book review & select:
Peer Reviewed

ARTbibliographies Modern (1974-present)
In the search box enter pt = book along with other search criteria

example: pt=book & au=gombrich
note: this database does not index critical reviews


BHA - Bibliography of the History of Art
(1973 - present)
Choose the Green Advanced Search tab at the start screen, then enter keywords book review along with other distinctive words. Always start by searching the field "Anywhere"

example: book review = anywhere & empire of the eye = anywhere


Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1988 - present)

At the Web of Science screen, select Full Search. Select the Arts & Humanities box, choose General or Advanced Search. Enter search terms & scroll down the page to Set Search Limits & choose Book Review from the document type list

example: topic: complete jacob lawrence & limited to book review


Cross-Disciplinary & Pre-1980s Indices:

Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. More info

LexisNexis Academic
Includes book reviews from major newspapers and some selected periodicals. Select the "Arts & Sports" category on the News menu. More info

Book Review Digest (1906 - present)
Indexes English language publications & reviews that have appeared within 18 months of the book's publication.

I B R (1971 - present)
Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen wissenschaftlicher Literatur
International bibliography of book reviews of scholarly literature chiefly in the fields of art, humanities & the social sciences

General & Print Indices

 

Librarian

Profile ImageKasia Leousis


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email

Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait