Electronic Journals
- Electronic journals--French literature
Full-text access to selected French literature journals to which WU subscribes. (For subscription journals not on this list, please see below.) - Études françaises Université de Montreal. Literary criticism and theory. Access via library catalog.
- International journal of Francophone studies Access via library catalog.
- Contemporary French and francophone studies Access via library catalog.
- Studies in French cinema Access via library catalog.
- French colonial history Access via library catalog.
- Nineteenth-century French studies Online content: 2001-present. Published by the University of Nebraska Press. Access via library catalog.
- French historical studies Published by Duke University Press. Access via library catalog.
- Proceedings of the Western Society for French History Online content: 2003-2007. Access via library catalog.
- French history Published by Oxford University Press. Access via library catalog.
- French studies bulletin Online content: 1996-present. Access via library catalog.
- Sites (Amsterdam : Netherlands) 20th century/contemporary French studies. Access via library catalog.
- Ianua Journal of Romance languages and philology. Access via library catalog.
- Reti medievali rivista : RM rivista. Journal of medieval studies, with articles in Italian, English, German, French, and Spanish. Access via library catalog.
- French cultural studies Online content: 1999-present. Access via library catalog.
- French politics, culture and society Issued by: Institute of French Studies at New York University and the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies at Harvard University. Access via library catalog.
- Lingua romana : a journal of French, Italian and Romanian culture. Access via library catalog.
- @nalyses: revue de critique et de théorie littéraire (University of Ottawa) Freely accessible full-text journal of literary criticism spanning the Francophone world, from the middle ages through the present. Began in 2006.
- Mercure de France Journal of symbolism and the avant-garde. Issues available: 1890-1935. Also accessible via Wash U catalog.
- post-scriptum.org : revue de recherche interdisciplinaire en textes et médias. Journal published by students in the Department of Comparative Literature at the Université de Montréal.
French Databases, Journal Indexes, etc.
- ARTFL (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language ) Database of over 3,000 texts in various genres, from classic works of French literature to non-fiction, spanning the 18th-20th centuries (w/some medieval and Renaissance texts as well). Permits both rapid exploration of single texts and inter-textual research.
- Gallica: Images et Textes du XIXe Siècle Francophone Bibliothèque Nationale, France. An experimental web site created to give scholars access to digitized holdings of the French National Library. Access to over 100,000 fully digitized volumes (full text) and 300,000 digitized images. Concentration on the 19th century. Includes full text of various 19th cent. French periodicals.
- ABU : la Bibliothèque Universelle (Association des Bibliophiles Universels) Contains 288 full-text works by 101 French authors, including Balzac, Flaubert, Maupassant, Voltaire, and Zola.
- Persée (Ministère de l’éducation nationale) Provides access to the back files of French journals in the social and human sciences, including history, literature, linguistics, anthropology, etc. (under the heading of Scientific Journals). The interface is available in both French and English.
- Revues.org (Centre pour l’édition électronique ouverte) Full-text access to French journals in the social and human sciences. It is possible to search all journals or a specific title. The entry for each journal title includes a timeline of dates for which only abstracts are available and dates for which full text is available.
- Electronic Journals Library--Romance Languages A free source for hundreds of full-text online journals in all areas of Romance languages. The site can be viewed in German or English.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance An electronic bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
General RLL databases, journal indexes, and more
- MLA International Bibliography
An index to literary, linguistic, and folklore scholarship (books and articles) published throughout the world. Indexes material published from 1926-present.
Backfiles available in print: 1921 to 1962, shelved in Olin, Level 1, Reference Indexes. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index, via Web of Science (1988-)

Database of journal articles covering the arts and humanities. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, along with individually selected items. Updated weekly. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index (OCLC) (1980- )
Same as above, but via FirstSearch. Please use this version only if you require data from 1980-1987. - Gale Literary Index Indexes the various literary series of the Gale Research Company, allowing you to find which Gale literature series include entries on an author, and to search for the title of a literary work.
- Essay and General Literature Index (WilsonWeb) (1985- )
Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and the social sciences. Updated annually. Backfiles avail. in print: 1900-200 - IBZ Online (1983- )
An index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge. Particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. - International Medieval Bibliography
(1967 - present)
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from the period 400-1500. The database comprises over 300,000 articles from over 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volumes. - Academic Search Premier (mostly 1975-present)
Full-text journal index. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text, indexing, and abstracts for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. - JSTOR
Full-text. Journal index. JSTOR consists of the complete back runs of almost 500 journal titles, from whenever each title began publication to a point 3 or 5 years ago. - Project MUSE
Full text. Access to over 300 journals in the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.
Librarian |
Kasia LeousisOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait