Off Campus Access
While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.
Suggest a link
Know a site or book that you'd like to share? Add your suggestion below and help improve this Subject Guide.
General RLL databases, journal indexes, and more
- MLA International Bibliography
An index to literary, linguistic, and folklore scholarship (books and articles) published throughout the world. Indexes material published from 1926-present.
Backfiles available in print: 1921 to 1962, shelved in Olin, Level 1, Reference Indexes. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index, via Web of Science (1988-)

Database of journal articles covering the arts and humanities. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, along with individually selected items. Updated weekly. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index (OCLC) (1980- )
Same as above, but via FirstSearch. Please use this version only if you require data from 1980-1987. - Gale Literary Index Indexes the various literary series of the Gale Research Company, allowing you to find which Gale literature series include entries on an author, and to search for the title of a literary work.
- Essay and General Literature Index (WilsonWeb) (1985- )
Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and the social sciences. Updated annually. Backfiles avail. in print: 1900-200 - IBZ Online (1983- )
An index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge. Particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. - Academic Search Premier (mostly 1975-present)
Full-text journal index. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text, indexing, and abstracts for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. - JSTOR
Full-text. Journal index. JSTOR consists of the complete back runs of almost 500 journal titles, from whenever each title began publication to a point 3 or 5 years ago. - Project MUSE
Full text. Access to over 300 journals in the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.
Getting Articles (Not held by WU Libraries)
- Article Reach Direct ArticleReach Direct works much like Interlibrary Loan (below) and is often faster for locating articles. Articles are posted to your account in My Catalog usually within 2-3 days. You can also use My Catalog to check on the status of your requests.
- Interlibrary Loan Obtain books, articles, and other research materials you need. All articles will be posted electronically in your ILLiad account usually within 3-7 days. Books are available for pickup usually within 1-2 weeks at Olin's Help Desk. Notified via email.
Librarian |
Kasia LeousisOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link


Loading content... please wait