American Memory Collection, Library of CongressAP Images Art and Architecture Journal IndexesCAMIO Image Search Engines
Converting Print Images to DigitalFinding Images in the WU CatalogImages in Print Indexes
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Finding Digital Images  Tags: studio_arts architectural_history art_history architecture fine_arts writing_1 teaching visual_studies visual_culture art material_culture english german_studies humanities maps  

This guide provides information about digital image collections and other image resources of interest to artists, architects, art historians, and others studying visual culture at Washington University in Saint Louis.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/findingimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

LUNA             Print Page
  
 

Featured Image

Vincent van Gogh, Dutch, 1853-1890. “L'Arlésienne: Madame Joseph-Michel Ginoux (née Marie Julien, 1848-1911),” 1888-89, The Metropolitan Museum of Art Bequest of Sam A. Lewisohn, 1951, New York; ARTstor ID MMA_IAP_1039651937 Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art, “Reproduction of any kind is prohibited without express written permission in advance from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.”

 

Getting Started

1) WU Faculty and Students log in with WUSTL Key (All others, log in with username lunapublic and password public)
2) Enter keywords in search box to search across collections or choose a collection to Browse.

 

Visit LUNA

  • LUNA  
      
    Luna Insight is the university's digital image management and distribution system. The local server hosts internally-generated image collections and delivers them to the Washington University network community.
  • All 50 Luna Public Collections  
      
    Also available in the LUNA Commons when you logon to LUNA.
  • WU Libraries Digital Gateway Unique LUNA Collections  
      
    For more information on the 19th Century Architectural Photography, Eames and Young Architectural Photographs, and Schiele Print Collection.
 

Use LUNA to:

  • Access the WU Visual Resources Collection of over 40,000 digital images, created locally for study and teaching including images of St. Louis architecture and neighborhoods, modern illustration and book design, and landscape architecture, as well as images covering the history of visual culture.
  • Download and print individual high resolution images or groups of images for Educational Use within Fair Use Copyright
  • Create and export presentations as html, Keynote or Powerpoint format; this approach allows for adding your own images to those found in Luna collections
  • Create, organize and host university-generated image collections
  • Cite the provenance of images found in Luna-hosted Collections

 

 

Featured Collections

  • AMICA  
    contains over 108,000 works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works.
  • WU Digital Gateway  
    is a digital image portal with open access to collections of unique artifacts from Washington University.
  • Rumsey Map Collection  
    contains over 8,800 maps and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, Africa & Oceania are also represented.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait