American Memory Collection, Library of CongressAP Images Art and Architecture Journal IndexesCAMIO Image Search Engines
Converting Print Images to DigitalFinding Images in the WU CatalogImages in Print Indexes
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Finding Digital Images  Tags: studio_arts architectural_history art_history architecture fine_arts writing_1 teaching visual_studies visual_culture art material_culture english german_studies humanities maps  

This guide provides information about digital image collections and other image resources of interest to artists, architects, art historians, and others studying visual culture at Washington University in Saint Louis.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/findingimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Online Collections             Print Page
  

Image Collections

  • Ad Access  
      
    Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
  • AP Images  
      
    An electronic library containing the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. Access to this site is limited to WU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)  
      
    Images available for Educational use, primarily ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture.
  • Artchive  
      
    An organized compendium of images, texts, and online exhibitions by Mark Harden.
  • Artists' Books by Women Artists in the Holly Hall Book Arts Collection, Washington University  
      
    This website, dedicated to the work by women artists in the collections of Washington University, was developed in 2001-2002 with the support of a grant from the Sam Fox Arts Center at Washington University in Saint Louis.
  • ARTStor  
      
    The ARTstor Charter Collection currently contains approximately 500,000 images; it documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
  • CAMIO  
      
    CAMIO is an online collection of art images from prominent museums around the world.
  • Collage  
      
    An image database containing 20,000 works from the Guildhall Library and Guildhall Art Gallery London. "All images are copyright Corporation of London and may not be copied or reproduced for any purpose."
  • David Rumsey Map Collection  
      
    This collection contains over 8,800 maps and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
  • Detroit Institute of Arts - Digitized Exhibition Catalogues (1886-1923)  
      
    These digitized exhibition catalogues are divided into two sections: the Detroit Museum of Art (1891-1919) and the Detroit Institute of Arts (1919-present).
  • Farber Gravestone Collection  
      
    contains over 13,500 photographic images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800.
  • Flickr  
      
    Users around the world share and organize images via Flickr. The website now hosts over three billion images.
  • Grove Dictionary of Art Online  
      
    Articles covering all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.
  • Historic Cities  
      
    This site contains maps, literature, documents, books and other relevant material concerning the past, present and future of historic cities and facilitates the location of similar content on the web.
  • Joconde  
      
    A comprehensive database from the French Ministry of Culture of objects in all French museums. The site is in French, but is easily searchable and provides basic catalog information for each object. It is a good place to find images of drawings and prints
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art - Collections  
      
    About 6,500 objects, highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments as well as the entire Department of European Paintings and the entire Department of American Paintings and Sculpture, can be accessed online through this site.
  • MFA Boston - Collections  
      
    Over 330,000 of the 450,000 objects owned by the Boston Museum of Fine Arts are available for viewing in the online collections database, many of which have images. Basic catalog information as well as provenance history is included.
  • Middle East Photograph Archive  
      
    The Middle East Department of the University of Chicago Library maintains an archive of early photographs of the Middle East. These photographs have been scanned and made available on the World Wide Web.
  • Mitsui Map Collection (Japanese Historical Maps)  
      
    This collection contains over 100 rare maps and books from the University of California’s East Asian Library. Most noteworthy in the collection are a range of Japanese city maps which date back 300 years.
  • New York Public Library Digital Gallery  
      
    NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 376,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more
  • New York Public Library Picture Collection Online  
      
    This is a collection of 30,000 digitized, public domain images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.
  • OhioLink - Art & Architecture Image Database  
      
    This database includes contributions from the University of Cincinnati, Case Western University & the Akron Art Museum.
  • Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts  
  • SIRIS Image Gallery  
      
    The SIRIS Image Gallery contains a sampling of archival visual records that are part of the Smithsonian Institution Research Information System's main catalog.
  • Society of Architectural Historians - Image Exchange  
      
    This database is a survey set of digital images of world architecture (prehistory - 1980s).
  • SPIRO  
      
    The online catalog & image database of the Architecture Visual Resources Library University of California, Berkeley.
  • The AMICA Library via LUNA  
      
    Over 100,000 works of art digitized from major art museums in the United States, Canada, and the UK are represented in this database. Coverage includes Greco-Roman,Egyptian, African, Asian, South American, Oceania, Pre-Columbian and North American.
  • The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920  
      
    Over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
  • Victoria & Albert Museum - Access to Images  
      
    You may search here for over 20,000 works and over 26,000 images from the V&A collections. The database covers a wide range of objects, including ceramics, fashion, furniture, glass, metalwork, paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture, and textiles.
  • Virtual Uffizi  
      
    This site has 505 files, one for each of the paintings exhibited in the actual Uffizi gallery in Florence, plus approximately 400 images of these files.
  • Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)  
      
    VADS is based at the Surrey Institute of Art & Design aims to provide collections of visual arts digital resources and advice for their creation and use.
  • Visual Information Access (VIA)  
      
    VIA is a growing online union catalog documenting the arts, material culture, and social history.
  • Web Gallery of Art  
      
    A virtual museum & searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 15,400 reproductions.
 
 

Featured Image

Designed by Louis Comfort Tiffany, American, 1848-1933. "Magnolias and Irises," ca. 1908. The Metropolitan Museum of Art Anonymous Gift, in memory of Mr. and Mrs. A. B. Frank, 1981, New York; ARTstor ID MMA_IAP_10311575170 Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art, “Reproduction of any kind is prohibited without express written permission in advance from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.”

 

Image Restrictions

There are restrictions on the use of most images.  Please be careful and study the conditions that apply to each resource.  For more information, check out the University of Texas Crash Course in Copyright or the Franklin Pierce Law Center's Copyright in Visual Arts

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait