Links to Art and Architecture Journal Indexes
The links below provide search tutorials for finding images within databases in WashU holdings.
- Art Full Text (1984-Present)
Covers 459 art periodicals, with full-text coverage of 120 journals beginning in 1997. Indexes articles and art reproductions from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Updated monthly. - Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Includes citations to journal articles and art reproductions on all aspects of art, covering 607 noted foreign-language and English language publications world-wide. - ARTbibliographies Modern (1974 - present)

Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Indexes 3,762 sources, including abstracts of journal articles, information on book reviews, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1860s - present)

Updated daily, this RLG Citation Resources file is the single most important bibliographical research tool available worldwide for research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history. - BHA - Bibliography of the History of Art (1973 - present)

Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present, this database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,819 periodicals. - DAAI - Design & Applied Arts Index (1973 - present)

DAAI contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world. - Oxford Art Online

This online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art provides external image links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world. Within each entry, explore Illustrations and Image Links on the menu bar for related images. - Princeton Index of Christian Art

The ICA records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 with a particular emphasis on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive. - Academic Search Premier (1975- present)

Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,500 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. - AP Images

This is also a separate database containing graphics, maps, illustrations and logos prepared by AP graphic artists. They can be downloaded and opened as PDF files. The graphics database dates from January 1999 to present. Licensed for 5 concurrent users.
Featured Image

"Tapestry, The Unicorn in Captivity," South Netherlandish, 1495-1505. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Gift of John D. Rockefeller Jr., 1937, New York; ARTstor ID MMA_IAP_10310749583 Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art, “Reproduction of any kind is prohibited without express written permission in advance from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.”
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait