American Memory Collection, Library of CongressAP Images Art and Architecture Journal IndexesCAMIO Image Search Engines
Converting Print Images to DigitalFinding Images in the WU CatalogImages in Print Indexes
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Finding Digital Images  Tags: studio_arts architectural_history art_history architecture fine_arts writing_1 teaching visual_studies visual_culture art material_culture english german_studies humanities maps  

This guide provides information about digital image collections and other image resources of interest to artists, architects, art historians, and others studying visual culture at Washington University in Saint Louis.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/findingimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Images in the WU Catalog             Print Page
  
 

Author Search Techniques

AUTHOR - an artist is considered the author of his or her work
Search by author to find books devoted to an artist's or architect's work (last name first)

example: author = rist pipilotti
example: author = hadid zaha

To find books published by a gallery or museum,
search the gallery's name as author

example: author = P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center
example: author = Wexner Center for the Visual Arts
example: author = Mildred Lane Kemper Art Museum
example: author = Washington University (Saint Louis, Mo.). Gallery of Art

 

Subject Search Techniques

SUBJECT - by finding the exact subject term and then adding in art or pictorial to the subject, you will find a list of works cataloged by that heading

examples:

human figure in art
women in art
war in art
birds in art
maps - pictorial


Limit the Search

A simple catalog search includes materials from all Hilltop campus libraries.
To limit the search to books in the Art & Architecture Library,
choose the Modify Search button on the top of the screen after an initial catalog search.
In the drop down menu for Location,
choose Art & Architecture Library

Other limit options include Date range, Format, Language and List Sorting.

example: human figure & exhibit* includes all Hilltop libraries
human figure & exhibit*, limited to Art & Architecture Library holdings.

 
 

Keyword Search Techniques

KEYWORD - use a keyword search adding words like pictorial or catalog* or exhibit*

Truncate with an asterisk * to search all forms of the root word

pictorial = pictorial works (primarily visual content)
example: ocean & pictorial

catalog* = catalog(s), catalogue(s)
example: catalog* & whiteread

exhibit* = exhibit(s), exhibition(s), exhibited
example: human figure & exhibit*


For complete works of an artist, use the artist's name + the following keywords:

complet* = complete works, obra completa, opera completa, oeuvre complete
example: michelangelo & complet*

raisonne = catalogue raisonne
example: ed ruscha & raisonne


To find exhibition catalogs, use the phrase catalog of an exhibition along with a distinctive keyword, an artist's name, a gallery or museum name

example: catalog of an exhibition and hayward gallery
example: catalog of an exhibition and joseph beuys


In further pursuit of exhibition catalogs:

Art Exhibition Catalog Collection, University of California, Santa Barbara
This collection contains over 95,000 exhibition and collection catalogs and is one of the largest of its kind.

1) Search the PEGASUS catalog (keyword search = individual artist's name, words as phrase) to locate catalogs of group exhibitions in which an artist has participated

2) Search the WU catalog and MOBIUS for the catalog by title. Request the catalog through ILLiad, if it is not available at WU or in MOBIUS.


To find famous works of art, try keyword searching the title of the artwork:

example: virgin of the rocks
example: figures at the base of a crucifixion

 
 

Featured Image

"Futuh al-Haramain (Description of Holy Cities) of Muhi al-Din Lar," Islamic, Mid-16th century, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Rogers Fund, 1932, New York; ARTstor ID MMA_IAP_10311574891 Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art, “Reproduction of any kind is prohibited without express written permission in advance from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.”

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait