Subject Librarian
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365
Search Oxford Reference Online
Search Oxford Reference Online:, an electronic collection of subject and language reference works from Oxford University Press.
Print Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of World History (Oxford University Press, 1998)
The Princeton Companion to Atlantic History
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through World History
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia (7 volumes)
A World History of Tax Rebellions
The Encyclopedia of World History (Houghton Mifflin, 2001)
Encyclopedia of African Peoples
The Cambridge World History of Food
The Encyclopedia of Cold War Politics
Encyclopedia of Geographical Features in World History : Europe and the Americas
Keesing's Record of World Events and Contemporary Archives - a long-running printed summary of world news published from 1931 until 1988 as Keesing's Contemporary Archives and as Keesing's Record of World Events from 1988 until 2015. The most recent 12 months are available full-text online. Its purpose is to provide a detailed, factual and neutral account of events
Online Reference Sources
- OED"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history,and pronunciation of over half a million words."
- Biography Index (1984 - )Includes autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. (1 user at a time)
- Book Review IndexA comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications, 1965 - present. (1 user at a time)
- Britannica OnlineFull-text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, covering all subjects.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.' (3 concurrent users allowed)
- Oxford Reference Online (Premium Collection)Contains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to information. (5 concurrent users allowed)
- World Biographical Information System (WBIS) OnlineShort biographical information and sources on 5.49 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present.
- Encyclopedia of Early Modern HistoryOnline English version of the Enzyklopädie der Neuzeit, a fifteen-volume reference work published in print between 2005 and 2012. Over 4000 entries offer a multi-faceted view on the decisive era in European history stretching roughly from 1450 to 1850. The perspective of this work is European, with extensive attention given to the interaction between European and other cultures.
- International Encyclopedia for the Middle AgesOffers newly-written, peer-reviewed, commissioned, articles that supplement Lexikon des Mittelalters and supplementary notes to the original LexMA articles. The chronological range of IEMA is 300–1500 CE, and it covers all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.
Specialized sources
WUSTL has access to many specialized collections that cannot be searched via MultiSearch groups. Links to some of these resources are below.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance"The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases."
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)MEMSO is a searchable database of rare books on medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland.
- Medieval SourcesonlineFull-text. 'Developed from the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series, this is an exciting electronic project which provides the full text of all of the books in the series for students, academics, colleges and universities.'
- Middle English CompendiumFull-text. Includes access to the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500), the HyperBibliography of Middle English, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
- International Medieval Bibliography (1967 - )'...the world's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500." (3 concurrent users allowed)
- Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesExplores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
- John Milton Bibliography"This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799."
- English Short Title Catalogue (1473-1800)Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language -- as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world.