Brown School Reference Librarian
Lori Siegel
she/her
Contact:
Lori Siegel
Reference Librarian
Brown Hall, Room 301A
lsiegel@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4064
Brown School Library
Brown Hall, Room 300
brownlibrary@wustl.edu
(314) 935-6633
Reference Librarian
Brown Hall, Room 301A
lsiegel@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4064
Brown School Library
Brown Hall, Room 300
brownlibrary@wustl.edu
(314) 935-6633
Subjects: Social Work
Boxes on This Posters Page
Here are links to the boxes on this Posters page. The links will quickly jump the screen to the boxes of information.
Designing the Poster
Adding Images
WUSTL Templates
Printing the Poster
Presenting the Poster
Posters - Designing the Poster
The following resources may help you to prepare for a poster session. When searching for additional information, consider using some of these terms in your search: "conference poster" "conference posters" "meeting poster" "meeting posters" "poster presentation" "poster presentations" "poster session" "poster sessions" "poster symposium" "poster symposiums" "research poster" "research posters" "scientific poster" "scientific posters"
- WUSTL Research Guide with Information on Creating a PosterThe research guide, Library Services for Undergraduate Research, has a tab for creating a poster. https://libguides.wustl.edu/c.php?g=47119&p=302676
- Article - Preparing and Presenting Effective Research PostersMiller, J. E. (2007). Preparing and presenting effective research posters. Health Services Research, 42(1 Pt 1), 311-328. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17355594/
- Article - How to Make an Effective PosterShelledy, D. C. (2004). How to make an effective poster. Respiratory Care, 49(10), 1213-1216. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15447805/
- Article - How to Present, Summarize, and Defend Your Poster at the MeetingCampbell, R. S. (2004). How to present, summarize, and defend your poster at the meeting. Respiratory Care, 49(10), 1217-1221. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15447806/
- Web Page - Designing Conference PostersPurrington, C. - Designing conference posters. https://colinpurrington.com/tips/poster-design/
- Web Page - Creating Effective Poster PresentationsNorth Carolina State University. Authored by: George Hess, Kathryn Tosney, Leon Liegel. https://sites.google.com/ncsu.edu/effective-posters/
- Web Page - Designing Effective Posters TutorialUNC Health Sciences Library. https://guides.lib.unc.edu/c.php?g=8592
- Web Page - 5 Tips on Designing an Effective Conference PosterBy Justin L. Matthews, November 17, 2016. https://www.wiley.com/network/researchers/promoting-your-article/you-can-design-an-effective-conference-poster-5-tips-for-success
- Web Page - How to Make Your Tables Less TerribleBy gravityTester, Apr 2, 2014. https://imgur.com/gallery/ZY8dKpA
- Web Page - Poster and Presentation ResourcesUniversity of North Carolina - Chapel Hill. https://gradschool.unc.edu/academics/resources/postertips.html
- Webpage - To Save The Science Poster, Researchers Want To Kill It And Start OverMike Morrison's new poster design is gaining followers. June 11, 2019.
https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2019/06/11/729314248/to-save-the-science-poster-researchers-want-to-kill-it-and-start-over - Book at WUSTL - Academic & Scientific Poster PresentationAcademic & Scientific Poster Presentation: A Modern Comprehensive Guide / by Nicholas Rowe.
Published: Cham : Springer International Publishing : Imprint: Springer, 2017.
https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b7700321~S2 - Book at WUSTL - APA style simplified: Writing in psychology, education, nursing, and sociologyBeins, Bernard. (2012). Chapter 10 discusses posters. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b4818474~S2
- Book at WUSTL - Displaying your findings: A practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentationsNicol, A. A. M., & Pexman, P. M. (2010). Chapter 13 discusses posters. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b4198143~S2
- Book at WUSTL - Effective writing in psychology: Papers, posters, and presentationsBeins, B., & Beins, A. (2008). Chapter 16 discusses posters. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b3552670~S2
- Book at WUSTL - Explaining research: How to reach key audiences to advance your workMeredith, D. (2010). Chapter 5 discusses posters. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b4112608~S2
- Book at WUSTL - How to make a scientific research posterElder, J. (2014). https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b6959881~S2
- Book at WUSTL - Posters and poster sessionsPeterson, Shirley M. (1999). https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b2695301~S2
- Book at WUSTL - Writing papers in psychology: A student guide to research reports, literature reviews, proposals, posters, and handoutsRosnow, R. L., & Rosnow, M. (2006). Chapter 9 discusses posters. https://spokane.wustl.edu:443/record=b3004692~S2
Posters - Adding Images
Images are copyright protected. The following creators/publishers agreed to permit the use of the image in its entirety for non-commercial purposes as long as the image is properly cited. You must get permission if your use is commercial. You must get permission if you are only going to use parts of the image or if you wish to adapt/alter the image. You must properly cite the creator/publisher according to the attribution license.
- Images - Creative Commons License Search for Content to ReuseBrowse over 500 million images, available for reuse. There is a checkbox for images that can be modified/adapted. https://search.creativecommons.org/
- Images - EuropeanaCulture and heritage of Europe. For public domain, use the phrase "public domain" (with the quote marks) in your search and make sure that the image mentions public domain in the Rights section for that image. For Creative Commons, filter with one of the CC limits, and make sure that you comply with the attribution terms for that image. https://www.europeana.eu/en
- Images - Flickr Creative CommonsFlickr images that are free to use on your poster provided that you comply with the attribution terms. https://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/
- Images - Flickr The CommonsPhoto collections with no known copyright restrictions. Free to use on your poster. https://www.flickr.com/commons
- Images - Google Advanced Image SearchIn the Usage Rights section, mark "Creative Commons Licenses." You can use these on your poster provided you comply with the license terms. https://www.google.com/advanced_image_search?hl=en&fg=1
- Images - Harvard Law School Public Domain Images LinksLinks to public domain images from Harvard Law School. https://guides.library.harvard.edu/c.php?g=310751#s-lg-page-section-2072816
- Images - HiClipart.com"HiClipart is an open community for users to share PNG images, all PNG cliparts in HiClipart are for Non-Commercial Use, no attribution required." https://www.hiclipart.com
- Images - NASAFree to use non-commercially when abiding by the Media Usage Guidelines and when includes attribution. https://images.nasa.gov/
- Images - The Noun ProjectCreative Commons Licensed icons and photos. May not resell or use on products.
May not use in advertisements. May not be used for promotional use or in merchandising. https://thenounproject.com/ - Images - Open Clip Art LibraryPublic domain images that you can use on your poster. https://openclipart.org/
- Images - Open-i [Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine]Use the LICENSE TYPE to filter to your type of needed use. Open-i, a service of the National Library of Medicine, enables search and retrieval of images from: The Open Access Subset of PubMed Central, The Indiana University hospital network, and The Orthopaedic Surgical Anatomy Teaching Collection at the USC Digital Library. https://openi.nlm.nih.gov/
- Images - PexelsFree stock photos. Click on the License tab for restrictions. https://www.pexels.com/
- Images - The Public Domain ReviewFree to use provided you follow the Rights information. https://publicdomainreview.org/collections/images
- Images - Public Health Image LibraryREMOVE THE CHECKMARK for Copyright Restricted. Public Domain images may be used without permission. *** WARNING: some of the images are very disturbing. https://phil.cdc.gov/AdvancedSearch.aspx
- Images - RawGraphsCreate visualizations with your own data. https://rawgraphs.io/
- Images - Smithsonian Open Access"... you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking... This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo." https://www.si.edu/openaccess
- Images - U.S. Federal Government ImagesImages created by the U.S. federal government are in the public domain. If you find an image on a U.S. federal government website, DO NOT ASSUME that the image was created by the federal government. Look for copyright or creator information. Only those images created by the federal government may be used without permission. However, all federal images in the public domain have restrictions. Read the restrictions here: https://www.usa.gov/government-works --Site for some images: https://search.usa.gov/search/images?affiliate=usagov&query=
- Images - U.S. Government Photos and Images on FlickrThese images have the United States Government Work License. These images are in the public domain, but do have some restrictions. Read the restrictions: https://www.usa.gov/government-works --- Flickr site for these images: https://www.flickr.com/search/?w=usg
- Images - U.S. National Library of Medicine Digital CollectionsLimit your results. Use the copyright limit and choose Public Domain. https://collections.nlm.nih.gov/
- Images - UnsplashFree to use. https://unsplash.com/
- Images - Wellcome ImagesAll images on the site are available at low resolution (800x550 pixels) under the Creative Commons Attribution, Non-commercial, No derivatives license CC BY-NC-ND. https://wellcomecollection.org/images
- Images - Wikimedia CommonsYou can use these images on your poster provided that you comply with the attribution terms. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
Posters - WUSTL Templates
- Templates - Brown School Poster Templateshttps://wustl.box.com/s/vr0twhipjp8zupowj06gcrvb8ck0y8gf
- Templates - Scientific Poster TemplatesFrom WUSTL's Office of Medical Public Affairs. https://publicaffairs.med.wustl.edu/items/scientific-poster-templates/
Posters - Printing the Poster
In addition to the resources below, also consider businesses such as FedEx, Hi/Tec Copy Center, Office Depot, OfficeMax, etc. Compare prices, turn around time, and software accepted.
- Printing Out the Poster - Chemistry (McMillen Chem Labs, Room 427)https://chemistry.wustl.edu/poster-printing
- Printing Out the Poster - Engineering IT (Lopata Hall, room 408)https://engineering.wustl.edu/offices-services/non-academic/EIT/printing/poster-printing.html
- Printing Out the Poster - Knight ADRC Poster Site, Washington University in St. Louis, School of Medicinehttps://knightadrc.wustl.edu/About_Us/Posters.htm
- Printing Out the Poster - Office of Undergraduate Research (3rd Floor, Cupples II)https://undergradresearch.wustl.edu/making-poster#secondary
- Printing Out the Poster - Olin Library (Level A, Room A04)https://library.wustl.edu/services/printing/#PosterPrinting
Posters - Presenting the Poster
- Article - How to Present, Summarize, and Defend Your Poster at the MeetingCampbell, R. S. (2004). How to present, summarize, and defend your poster at the meeting. Respiratory Care, 49(10), 1217-1221. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15447806/
- Article - Preparing and Presenting Effective Research PostersMiller, J. E. (2007). Preparing and presenting effective research posters. Health Services Research, 42(1 Pt 1), 311-328. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17355594/
- Web Page - Creating Effective Poster Presentations (presenting section)North Carolina State University. Authored by: George Hess, Kathryn Tosney, Leon Liegel. https://sites.google.com/ncsu.edu/effective-posters/present
- Web Page - Designing Conference Posters (presenting section)Purrington, C. - Designing conference posters. See the section on presenting. https://colinpurrington.com/tips/poster-design/#presenting
- Web Page - Poster and Presentation Resources (presenting section)University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill. https://gradschool.unc.edu/academics/resources/postertips.html#prez