Video Tutorials 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

General Science  Tags: science biology chemistry physics earth_and_planetary_science life_sciences scientific anthropology neuroscience mathematics math engineering technology environment astronomy medicine  

A starting point for general science questions
Last update: Sep 01st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/generalsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Resources and Services

Suggest a link

Know a site or book that you'd like to share? Add your suggestion below and help improve this Research Guide.

 

Science & Engineering Databases

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    approx. 1975+ (varies by source) Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts
  • Applied Science Fulltext  
      
    Journal index of more than 485 core English-language scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management; includes full
  • Article First (OCLC)  
      
    1990+; indexes nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Updated daily.
  • Community of Science  
      
    Keyword searchable profiles of researchers and scientists, inventions, and facilities at major universities and government laboratories in U.S. and Canada; NSF and NIH grant opportunities and recent awards.
  • Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)  
      
    (1861 - ) The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Updated monthly.
  • INSPEC  
      
    1898+; indexes scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology.
  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR Web)  
      
    Data that helps evaluate and compare scholarly journals; uses "citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals"; some of the data includes Citation and Article Counts, Impact Factor, Immediacy Index, Cited and Citing Half-life.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Includes Science Citation Index Plus, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index; source documents from 1980+; cited references can go back much farther.
  • Other database searching options for the sciences  
      
 

Find it!

Use Find it! to search several major databases at the same time.

Use MultiSearch and choose Subjects and then Astronomy, Chemistry, Earth + Planetary Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Patents, Physics, PNP, or Sciences, General; you may search several databases at the same time. Find it! FAQ.

 

Off Campus Access

While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait