Jnl Abbreviations
- All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
- Journal Title Abbreviations (from Becker Medical Library Catalog)
- List of All Journals Cited in PubMed
- PubMed Journals Database
- Journals Indexed in AGRICOLA
- Journal Search (Web of Science etc.)
- Journal titles with Biosis abbreviations (Univ. of Queensland)
- Journal Abbreviations - from the Univ Illinois Biotechnology Information Center
- Abbreviations, Acronyms, Initialisms
- BioABACUS Search: Biotechnology Abbreviations & Acronyms
Selected reference "books" online
Style guides: Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers | Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers | Using CBE Style to Cite and Document Sources | Reference Sources: Style Manuals | Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed [limited to 25 concurrent users] | AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editors, 10th ed, 2007 (Quick Reference Citation Format for AMA Manual of Style, 10th ed, 2007) | Publications Handbook and Style Manual (American Society of Agronomy (ASA), Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA)) | Citation Machine (MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian) | From Research to Manuscript: A Guide to Scientific Writing | Writing A Biomedical Research Paper: A Guide to Structure and Style
Taxonomy, classification, & species info sites: Classification of Living Things | Guide to Internet Resources for Biological Taxonomy & Classification | Guide to the Animal Kingdom for Students and Educators | Discover Life | Tree of Life | Encyclopedia of Life | Tropicos | Natural History Reference Sources | NatureServe Explorer: an Online Encyclopedia of Life | Species 2000 | IUCN Red List of Threatened Species | NCBI Taxonomy Homepage
- Biology Data Books, v.1-3 (2nd Ed., 1972-1974)

FASEB (Knovel) Numerical data of biology and medicine in a convenient and accessible form for reference; includes accepted constants as a basis for correlation, common standards for statistical studies, and normal values for research - Amazing Numbers in Biology
Zoology, botany, microbiology, human biology and comparative biology collected data in referenced tables - Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

- McGraw-Hill's AccessScience
Searchable McGraw-Hill’s Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Ed., new articles from McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, an online science dictionary, image and multimedia galleries - Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Informatics, 3rd ed. 2008
- Merck Index, An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals

Chemical, pharmaceutical and biomedical information - Finding People, especially Life Scientists
- Biological Reagents, Vendors, Protocols, Methods
- Hortus: a concise dictionary of gardening, general horticulture and cultivated plants in North America (1930)

- Stat!Ref

Current medical textbooks in all the specialties, fulltext and searchable online. Includes Goodman & Gilman Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine and much more - Review of Natural Products

Info about natural products, including their botany, history, chemistry, pharmacology, medicinal uses, toxicology, and patient information - Encylopedia of Mammals, 3rd ed.

Covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world - Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
(2007) editor Neil J. Salkind - On-Line Biology Book
by Michael J. Farabee, Estrella Mountain Community College - Encyclopedia of Entomology
2008 - American Men & Women of Science
Biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences - World of Learning
Directory of universities, societies, museums, libraries, and research institutions worldwide. Each listing provides name; address; telephone and fax numbers, e-mail and internet addresses; principal personnel; and activities and publications, where avail - AAAS Atlas of Population and the Environment
2000 - Prokaryotes, a handbook on the biology of bacteria, 3rd ed
2006 - Encyclopedia of plant and crop science
2004 - New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
2nd ed. 2002; includes many color illustrations - Protein Science Encyclopedia
Covers structure, function, analytical methods, engineering, and medical aspects of proteins. - Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (2009)
- Ane's Encyclopedic Dictionary of General & Applied Entomology (2008)
Subject Librarian |
Ruth LewisPhone: (314) 935-4819
Olin Library, room 139
email: rlewis@wustl.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Math, General Science
Suggest a link
Know a site or book that you'd like to share? Add your suggestion below and help improve this Research Guide.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait