RefWorks
RefWorks is an easy to use web-based citation manager available to the WU community that allows you to import and format your citations.
RefWorks can...
... create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc.
... import citations from databases and the WU Catalog.
... quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA, ...).
... help you easily share references with others.
Compare RefWorks to other citation managers (From the University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Options for Managing Citations
Whether you are working toward your dissertation or a short research paper, managing citations and formatting them for your writing is getting easier all the time. There are several options for you to consider:
- RefWorks: The library has purchased RefWorks so WU faculty, staff, students, and alumni can use it free.
PubMed, export/import options:- Exporting references from PubMed into RefWorks
- In RefWorks, choose Search tab, then Online Catalog or Database, then Pubmed. This allows you to search PubMed from RefWorks. However, you will not have all the search features of a PubMed search.
- Direct Export from Highwire Press search, which can include PubMed
- Various capture web page data options which I haven't explored yet
Exporting references from SciFinder into RefWorks [I haven't tried this with SciFinder Web yet; I will report back after I've tried that.]
Converting References from Other Software Programs (to RefWorks) | in RefWorks, the Tools tab offers an Import Endnote V8+ Database option
More info about RefWorks - EndNote Web: I recommend you consider this free tool because, in my experience, most biology researchers use EndNote. Although the free tool is less powerful, there is easy transition between the two products. EndNote Web and EndNote work well with the major biology databases and citation styles.
- EndNote: This is a commercial product which is being used by many researchers and labs in the biology department. The NSLC computer lab has EndNote installed. The library does not support this product but we are happy to help find the appropriate connection files and import filters as needed. Becker Medical Library often offers a basic EndNote class; see Computer Courses Calendar. There are also usually several tutorials and webinars on the EndNote web site. More info | Tips: Modifying EndNote to Include the PubMed Central ID (PMCID)
- Reference Manager and ProCite are other popular commercial products.
- CiteSmart is available for free trial download and then purchase. It's designed to work specifically with PubMed.
- Selected Help pages for various biology databases
- Various bookmarking/tagging services may also be worth exploring depending on what you want to do. For example: Caution: links to electronic citations may not work well for sharing with folks at other institutions, unless they also have libraries with institutional subscriptions to the resource. Also, you may need to edit the WU proxy prepend [http://libproxy.wustl.edu/login?url=] off the start of your links if you want to share them outside of WU. Please ask Ruth if you have questions about this.
Reference Management Software [Wikipedia]
If you are searching for reviews or software comparisons in your favorite search engine or database, consider other keywords including bibliographic reference management, reference management, personal biblographic systems/software/managers, etc.
Subject Librarian |
Ruth LewisPhone: (314) 935-4819
Olin Library, room 139
email: rlewis@wustl.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Math, General Science
Suggest a link
Know a tip, site or other resource that you'd like to share? Add your suggestion below and help improve this Research Guide.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait