Biology Dictionaries
See also below: Medical Dictionaries and General & Foreign Language Dictionaries
- Agriculture Glossary
Agricultural terms, programs and laws; from Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress at the request of the U.S. House Committee on Agriculture - Bender's dictionary of nutrition and food technology
- Bioinformatics Glossary
From European Bioinformatics Institute - Biology-Online Dictionary
Open, editable wiki dictionary so confirm anything questionable. - Biotechterms.org

Free online version of Glossary of biotechnology terms / by Kimball Nill. - Botany.com: Plant & Flower Dictionary...
Commercial site but lots of info among the ads and pop-ups - Bryological Glossary
From Missouri Botanical Garden Tropicos; includes French, German and Spanish translations. - Buzzwords: A Glossary of Minbeast Terms
from Young Entomologists Society - ChemIDplus Advanced

Chemical synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases containing information about the chemicals. - Combined Chemical Dictionary

from ChemNetBase - Common Chemistry
CAS Registry Numbers and synonyms for approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest - Dictionary of (Ecological) Epidemiology
by Jonathan Swinton (1998-2002) - Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science
(2003) Knovel - Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 2nd ed
(1989) Knovel - Dictionary of Biology

(2008) - Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, 3rd ed

(1999) - Dictionary of Ecology

(2006) - Dictionary of Environment and Conservation

(2007) - Dictionary of Food and Nutrition

(2009) - Dictionary of Genetics

(2007) - Dictionary of parasitology
2005 - Dictionary of Plant Sciences

(2006) - Dictionary of Statistics

2nd ed, 2008 - Dictionary of Zoology

(2009) - Encyclopedia of Underwater Life

(2005) - FAO Glossary of Biotechnology for Food and Agriculture
(2002) - Finding the Right Word: A guide to some useful online [genomics] glossaries
Links compiled at Science Magazine - Forestry terminology: a glossary of technical terms used in forestry
(1944) Society of American Foresters - Gardening Glossary
- GardenWeb Glossary of Botanical Terms
Site with lots of ads (sorry!) - Genome Glossary

from Primer of Molecular Genetics (Dept. of Energy) - Glossaries: Human Genetics/Genome Project
Many links compiled at Univ. of Kansas Medical Center - Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

(1997) - Glossary of Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology Terms, 4th ed
from SciTechNetBase - Glossary of Statistical Terms
from SticiGui: Statistics Tools for Internet and Classroom Instruction with a Graphical User Interface, by Philip B. Stark - Hortus; a concise dictionary of gardening, general horticulture and cultivated plants in North America

(1930) - Hypermedia Glossary of Genetic Terms
by B. Schlindwein at Weihenstephan Information & Documentation Centre - Illustrated Glossary of Plant Pathology
from American Phytopathological Society - IUPAC Gold Book - Compendium of Chemical Terminology

compiled by the Royal Society of Chemistry - Kimball's Biology Pages
Not precisely a dictionary, but many definitions and mini-essays on biological topics, arranged alphabetically; many include very nice illustrations. - New Encyclopedia of Birds

(2007) - New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors, 2nd ed, 2009,
Comprehensive, authoritative style guide for students, professionals, and publishers working with writing in the fields of physics, chemistry, botany, zoology, biochemistry, genetics, immunology, microbiology, astronomy, mathematics & computer science - Nomenclatural Glossary for Zoology
from BIOSIS - On-Line Glossary of Technical Terms in Plant Pathology
from Cornell University - Online Dictionary of Invertebrate Zoology
(2005) - Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
2nd ed, 2006 - Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations
From Wiley Interscience. Also know as Acronym Finder - Statistics Glossary
from HyperStat Online - Sustainable Agriculture: Definitions and Terms (1999; revised 2007; updated links 6/9/08)
(1999) National Agricultural Library, Special Reference Briefs Series no. SRB 99-02 - Talking Glossary of Genetics Terms
from National Human Genome Research Institute - Terminology Collection: Online Dictionaries
List of glossaries arranged by subjects such as Agriculture, Biology, Chemistry, Forestry, Medicine, Pharmacology, etc. - Terms of Environment: Glossary, Abbreviations and Acronyms
from EPA - Tico Ethnobotanical Dictionary
Entries for popular and scientific plant names - UCMP Glossary
Terms for "practicing biologists and paleontologists;" from Univ. of Calif. Museum of Paleontology - Water Words Dictionary
from Nevada Division of Water Planning
Medical Dictionaries
- Concise Medical Dictionary

(2007) - Dorlands Medical Dictionary for Healthcare Consumers
from MerckSource - List of medical abbreviations
from Wikipedia - MediLexicon
Over 70,000 medical, pharmaceutical, biomedical & healthcare acronyms and abbreviations - MeSH
MeSH is a vocabulary of medical and scientific terms assigned in PubMed; includes definitions as well as hierarchical arrangements of related, broader and narrower terms - Multilingual Glossary of technical and popular medical terms in nine European Languages
(last update 2000) - On-line Medical Dictionary
Published at the Dept. of Medical Oncology, University of Newcastle upon Tyne - Stedman's Medical Dictionary
WU only; from Stat!Ref (Becker Medical Library) - Terminology Collection: Word Online: Medicine
links to many online dictionaries - Who Named It?
Dictionary of medical eponyms; includes information about diseases and about the people they are named after - Merriam-Webster Online: Medical
Search or browse available - Martindale's Virtual Medical Center: Medical Dictionaries, Abbreviations, Eponyms, Medical Tests
Collection of links - Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
2nd ed, 2006
General & Foreign Language Dictionaries
- Terminology Collection: Online Dictionaries
Lists of dictionaries in many languages; includes bilingual and multilingual sources - American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition. 2000
4th ed (2000) - Dictionary and Thesaurus - Merriam-Webster Online
Thesaurus and Spanish-English also available. - OneLook Dictionary Search
> 100 sites in one search - Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

French-English; English-French; German-English; English-German; Italian-English; English-Italian; Spanish-English; English-Spanish; more soon. - Dictionaries & Thesauri
List of many sources from Olin Library Reference - Language Dictionaries and Translators
Links to many languages and many sources - Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations Dictionary
2009 - Concise Oxford English Dictionary
12th ed, 2008
Subject Librarian |
Ruth LewisContact Info:
Phone: (314) 935-4819
Olin Library, room 139
email: rlewis@wustl.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Math, General Science
Phone: (314) 935-4819
Olin Library, room 139
email: rlewis@wustl.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Math, General Science
Suggest a link
Know a site or book that you'd like to share? Add your suggestion below and help improve this Research Guide.
- Yeminli Sözlük by Yeminli SözlükDictionary - Millions of Pretranslated English Turkish Sentences
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait