Sociology
Ohara Institute for Social Research, Hosei University (大原デジタルライブラリー ・法政大学 ) image database of labor movement posters, full-text databases of institute publications, comprehensive bibliography of labor and social issues, and article index.
Resources for searching sociology texts ( 社会学文献 探索・大阪大学 )
Sociology Text Database ( 日本社会学文献情報データベース ・富山大学 ) Comprehensive bibliography of scholarship on sociology published in Japan
Bibliography of Japanese Sociology Database ( 社会学文献情報データベース )
Socius Created by sociologist Kazuo Nomura (Professor of Kokugakuin University), including his work and useful links.
WinetCASS, National Women’s Education Center (国立女性教育会館) extensive bibliography, statistics, directory of gender studies courses offered in Japanese universities, etc.
Image Database of Classic Texts on Women ( 女性関連資料画像原文データベース ・奈良女子大学 ) 68 titles of Edo- and Meiji-period books for women are presented in image and text; also full-text images of three prewar journals meant for educators and homemakers.
Fact Sheet / Japan Information Network
Portal
- ARIADNE: Resources for Arts & Humanities (アリアドネ)
- JGuide: Stanford Guide to Japan Information Resources
- Detabesu Shusei (データベース集成)
- Japan: Selected Internet Resources (Portals to the World, Library of Congress)
- WARP: Web ARchiving Project (国立国会図書館インターネット資源選択的蓄積実験事業)
- Dnavi: Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan Detabesu Nabigeshon Sabisu (国立国会図書館データベースナビゲーションサービス)
- Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan Digital Archive Portal (国立国会図書館デジタルアーカイブポータル)
Films
http://www.jmdb.ne.jp
Note: To browse, use the Ichiran (一覧) tab –
http://www.jmdb.ne.jp/index.cgi?IndexPage
http://db.eiren.org/
Covers 1959-2009
http://www.walkerplus.com/movie/kinejun/
Covers movies released in Japan 1945-
http://www.jishueiga.com/
http://www.eibunren.or.jp/database/about.html
- goo Eiga
映画情報 - goo 映画
- Japanese Movie Database
日本映画データベース
- Movie Walker All Movie Database
キネマ旬報全映画作品データベース
- Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival
山形国際ドキュメンタリー映画祭
- Kurosawa Akira Digital Archive
黒澤明デジタルアーカイブ(龍谷大学・黒澤プロダクション)
Anthoropology
Bibliography, Japanese Society of Ethnology (日本民俗学会 文献情報) Covers monographs published since 1996. Index to Minzokugaku kenkyu is also available from the first issue (1935) to present.
National Museum of Ethnology, Osaka (国立民俗学博物館)
The National Museum of Ethnology ( inpaku, short for Kokuritsu Minzokugaku Hakubutsukan) was established in 1974.
National Museum of Ethnology, Osaka 国立民俗学博物館 (MINPAKU)
A comprehensive research museum specializing in ethnology and related fields. Its database page
includes databases on costumes and clothing (documenting materials and
scholarship); artifacts; Korean daily commodities; world literary
materials; photographs of Nepal; and a Sumerian dictionary.
Japanese Society of Cultural Anthropology 日本民俗学会
Includes list of monographs published since 1996. Index to Minzokugaku
kenkyu 民族學研究 is also available from
the first issue (1935) to 2002. The English version
of the site is less comprenhensive than the Japanese, but includes many
major elements. The "Bookmarks" page provides links to museums,
academic institutions, scholarly organizations and resources for
anthropology in Japan and elsewhere.
Art/Film/Culture
60s’ Wonder World (60年代通信) Information
on Japanese culture in the 1960s cultures , especially youth culture.
Includes TV advertisements and programs, magazines, songs, candies,
children’s games, cartoons, films, etc
Anime Checklist
A complete checklist of Japanese animated figures (anime) produced in Japan since 1917.
All cinema ONLINE
One
of the most comprehensive cinema database including foreign movies.
Information included are reviews, images, and related data copyrighted
by Sringray Company. Listed new and old Japanese and foreign movies.
Japan Art Catalog Library (アートカタログ・ライブラリー)
13,000 titles (of a total of 21,000 titles in the collection) are cataloged and searchable online.
Japan Arts Council – Digital Library
( 日本芸術文化振興会・文化デジタルライブラリー) Covers Japanese culture and traditional
dances and drama theaters. Includes also instructual texts related to
Japanese classic stage arts.
Japanese Film Database
(日本映画データベース) Over 34,000 titles of films made in Japan since 1899 are
searchable by title, cast, directors, and year. Also lists related
reference books.
Kyoto National Museum Collection Catalog
( 京都国立博物館収蔵品カタログ) Over 5,000 items held by the museum are searchable by
title, creator, type, nationality, period, etc. 10,000 images are
viewable.
Readers’ Guide to Arts of Japan
An extensive bibliography of printed materials on the arts of Japan. Citations are critically annotated.
Tokyo National Museum
( 東京国立博物館) Established in 1872. In 1947 it is renamed from Imperial
Household Museum, National Museum to Tokyo National Museum in 1952.
Materials held are archeology, sculpture, painting, calligraphy,
decorative arts and others from various region in the world. Also
guided in Chinese, English, Korean, and others.
TV Drama database ( テレビドラマデータベース )
Over 27,000 TV dramas since 1940 are searchable by title, cast, creator, abstract, and writers.
Ukiyo-e Link ( 浮世絵リンク集 )
Links to museums and institutions with Ukiyo-e collections.
Economic/Fincance
Bank of Japan ( 日本銀行 ) Extensive data on Japanese economy and finance as well as reports on economic and monetary policies are available. The bank’s own
Institute for Monetary and Economic Studies 金融研究所 offers many full-text reports in Japanese and English published by the bank since 1997.
The Currency Museum ( 貨幣博物館), another affiliate of the bank, is rich in information on the history of Japanese currency.
Development Bank of Japan (日本政策投資銀行 ・旧日本開発銀行 )
Full text of many of the bank's research papers are available, as well as handy dictionaries of financial terms.
Ministry of Finance of Japan (財務省)
Nippon Keidanren (日本経済団 体 連合会) Site of Japan’s most influential business interest group.
経済学関係の統計資料
・内閣府経済社会総合研究所(ESRI)
・総務省統計局
・財務省の統計資料
・日本銀行の金融統計・データ
・経済産業省の経済統計
・都道府県の統計(経済産業省)
・国税庁の統計情報
・国土交通省の統計情報
・日本郵政公社の統計データ
・資源エネルギー庁の統計情報
・農林水産省の統計
・暮らしに役立つ金融経済情報 (日本銀行金融中央委員会)
・国民生活金融公庫の調査結果
・STAT U.S.A (U.S.
Department of Commerce)=米国・商務省(English)
・日本商工会議所早期景気観測調査
・社)日本自動車工業会の統計速報
・日本経済新聞社の景気ウオッチ
・GDP・景気・経済 SITE
・Economic Data
・日本の景気・経済情報快速ネットワーク「電猫」
・経済社会データランキング(ストックホルム商科大学鈴木賢志助教授)
・日本経済指標と米国経済指標
・日中経済協会(中国経済データ)
・歌右衛門のホームページ Economy & Market Links
・RePEc: (Database of
working papers,
journal
articles in economics)(English)
経営学関係の統計資料
・社団法人 電子情報技術産業協会(JEITA):日本の電子情報関連の統計資料
・電次世代電子子商取引推進協議会 (ECOM)
・日本マーケティング・リサーチ協会(JMRA)
・(株)近畿鑑定地所のマーケティング関係リンク集
・経済・ビジネス・統計のポータルページ(一橋大学附属図書館)
History
Digital Image Collection, Kyoto University
(京都大学附属図書館貴重資料画像) The extensive historical resources offered on this
site include the Meiji Restoration database, National Treasure Konjaku
monogatari, Goseibai shikimoku, and Fujikawa collection of medical
books.
Historical Documents Image and F ull-text Database, National Museum of Japanese History (国立歴史民俗博物館蔵中世古文書データベース)
1, 925 items of medieval documents are cataloged; image data available for some.
Historiographical Institute, University of Tokyo
(東京大学史料編纂所) The most extensive and comprehensive digital resource site
for Japanese history, including an index to Dai Nihon shiryo and the
full text of Heian ibun.
Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu - Meiji period
( 幕末明治期日本古写真画像データベース・長崎大学) Searchable archive of 5,41 4 photographs of
Nagasaki and other parts of Japan taken during the latter half of the
19th century (1860 -1920) . An English / Japanese site.
International Research Center for Japanese Studies ( 国際日本文化研究センター・ 日文研データベース)
A variety of the center's databases for historical resources; strong in visual information.
Japan center for Asian Historical Records
(アジア歴史資料センター ・国立公文書館 ) Opened in Nov. 2002, the center aims to provide
Internet access to Asia-related official documents held by three
national archival collections. 225,000 catalog records and 2.7 million
images are available so far.
Kano Bunko Image database (狩野文庫画像データベース ・ 東北大学附属図書館)
Searchable archive of 450 old Japanese maps and 280 titles of illustrated books and scrolls.
National Museum of Japanese History
(国立歴史民俗博物館) The museum is digitizing its primary documents and
compiling bibliographies and a collection catalog; mostly accessible
without restriction.
Historical Documents image and full-text Database, National Museum of Japanese History 国立歴史民俗博物館蔵中世古文書データベース
1,925 items of medieval documents are cataloged; image data available
for some.
National Archives of Japan
(国立公文書館) Searchable catalog of 490,000 volumes of Naikaku bunko, which
includes official documents since the Edo government and other
historically significant books and manuscripts.
Finding Images of East Asia at Harvard and Beyond An overview of East Asia-related photographs and other visual resources.
Kansai Digital
Archives & Rekishi Kaido 関西デジタルアーカイブ&歴史街道
Japanese Old Photographs
in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period Nagasaki University 古写真データベース
Portraits of
Modern Japanese Historical Figured (NDL) 近代日本人の肖像
Database
of materials on Japanese political figures after Meiji (NDL) 近現代日本政治関係人物文献目録
占領期雑誌記事情報データベース NDL site
占領期新聞・雑誌情報データベース The Institute of 20th Century site
Prange
Collection University of Maryland. Title level search via the National
Diet Library. The most comprehensive collection in the world of print
publications issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II
years, 1945-1949.
Je Kaleidoscope: Views of Japan from Myriad Angles カレイドスコープ:日本理解のための情報発信ページ ( Japanese / English )
Multilingual translations
of history textbooks used in Japan's middle schools.
Japanese War Crimes: Resources for Researchers: The Nazi War Crimes and Japanese Imperial Government Records Interagency Working Group (IWG).
BUNZO 歴史公文書探究サイト『ぶん蔵』
Site for exploration of History archives
Law/Politics/Government
apanese Government Web Resources ( 電子政府の総合窓口 ) Gateway for Japanese Government information on the web.
Government, Cabinet and Parties
Full text D atabase of M inutes of the Diet ( 国会会議録 ・国立国会図書館 ) Coverage since the first parliament session in May 1947.
Government Publications (政府刊行物)
Prime Minister of Japan and His Cabinet (首相官邸)
This official site offers the latest information on the prime minister regarding a variety of topics.
House of Representatives ( 衆議院 )
House of Councilors ( 参議院 )
Liberal Democratic Party ( 自民党 )
Democratic Party ( 民主党 )
Socialist Democratic Party ( 社民党 )
Japanese Communist Party ( 共産党 )
Kanpo (National Gazette) Index ( 官報検索 )
Index to tables of contents of Kanpo since June 3, 1996.
Law
Diet (Law Library of Congress) minutes Guide to Law Online: Japan
English translation (PDF file) by the Proskauer Rose (law firm)
Translations of Laws and Regulations 法令翻訳データ (内閣官房)
Japanese Legal Researchaw An overview of materials available on the net and in books; annotated list of resources; functions as a research guide to Japanese law.
Legal D ata S upply S ystem (法令データ提供システム ・ 総務省行政管理局 ) Current laws are searchable by name, category, year enacted, and short name.
Ministry of Justice (法案 法令 ・法務省 ) Full text of all laws passed in the Diet since the 145th session (1999).
Statutes and Parliamentary Documents Room, NDL (国 立国 会図書館法令議会資料室) Comprehensive introduction to resources on Japanese statutes in allformats; extensive links to useful resources.
Local
International Relations
World and Japan D atabase
(田中昭彦研究室 データベース世界と日本」) Texts and data for modern Japanese politics and
diplomacy, including major speeches by prime ministers and cabinet
members since 1885. Offered by Akihiko Tanaka.
Diplomatic record office of the Ministry of Foreign affairs (外務省外交史料館 ) List of public and declassified diplomatic records.
Research Institutions
Religion
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (電子佛教辭典) Includes terms in English, Sanskrit, Pali, and Tibetan found in Indian, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, and Tibetan texts. Definitions provided in English.
eBible Japan (日本語聖書検索) Three Japanese translations of the Old and New Testaments, searchable by word.
International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism (花園大学国際禅学研究所) Downloadable Zen texts from the Daizokyo and Zokuzokyo. Searchable full text database of Gozan Bungaku zenshu (Shiunkaku, 1935-1913).
Sotozen Net (曹洞禅ネット) Articles and papers on the Soto school (1868 to 2001); searchable by title and author.
Business
- Nomura Research
Institute 野村総合研究所
- Nikkei Business Browser 日経ビジネス
- Nikkei BP AsiaBizTech 日経BP
- Japan External
Trade Organization ( ジェトロ Japanese / English )
- Small and Medium Enterprise Agency 日本の中小企業情報
- Resource Center for the History of Entrepreneurship
Geography
Suggest a link
Know a site that you'd like to share? Add your suggestion below and help improve this Subject Guide.
Classics
- Nihon Bungaku To Tekisuto Fairu (日本文学等テキストファイル)古典-近代文学 漢文・仏典
- Koten Sogo Kenkyusho (古典総合研究所)古典
- Japanese Text Initiative 古典-近代文学
- J-Texts (日本文学電子図書館) 古典-近代文学
- 日本の古典文学作品関連資料のテキストデータへのリンク
- 音声古典ライブラリ
- 園田学園女子大学近松研究所
- 百人一首
- 古今和歌集 九大言語文化部
- 源氏物語絵巻 The Tale of Genji Scroll, 12th century, Tokugawa Reimeikai, Tokyo
- Koji Ruien 古事類苑
- Electronic Katei Bunko 霞亭文 庫 電子版 ・東京大学付属図書館
Searchable image database of 1,159 Edo period novels and dramas, including kibyoshi, sharebon, and otogi zoshi. - Full-text D atabase of Japanese Classics 古典文学本文データベース ・国文学研究資料館
Full text of Nihon Koten bungaku taikei (Iwanamai).
Modern Literature
- 名古屋大学松岡助教授のホーム・ページ
- National Institute of Japanese Literature 国文学研究資料館
- 日本近代文学館
- Modern Japanese Literature Image Database National Institute of Japanese Literature 近代文献画像データベース ・ 国文学研究資料館
43 modern poetry books (about 8,300 pages) are available. Four additional collections now being digitized.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait