Research Guides: A Guide to Japanese Studies: Home

HAND-PICKED NEWS !! for Japanese Studies

Gunsho Ruiju Now Available for WUSTL Community!!
*****************************************************************************************************************************************************
STAGE BEYOND BORDERS
Japan Foundation provides 15 traditional & folk performing arts in YouTube video clips.
Unhidden Iwanami Bunko 岩波文庫 Project
700 titles of Iwanami Bunko in the 1960s, mostly translated into Japanese, are now searchable on Excel sheets (with assistance by Al Rigby, EALC MA student as EAL student assistant).

日本近代文学大事典増補改訂デジタル版 is now available on JapanKnowledge!!

Items from 日本近代文学大事典 are retrievable either from 基本検索 or 詳細(個別)検索. Also, it is found under the tab of 人名・文化・宗教 to filter out exclusively from this resource.
Below is an example of a search under 織田作之助 with 47 returns!

****************************************************************************

REKION （れきおん・歴史的音源）is now available at EAL!!!

Starting Sept. 7th, 2021, the Historical Recordings Collection provided by National Diet Library, Japan is available at WashU EAL (Accessible ONLY on a designated laptop computer that is loanable at the circulation counter.)

****************************************************************************

令和３年度「女性アーカイブ研修」（国立女性教育会館）
The application is due at 5 pm on Jan. 23rd (JST)!
STAGE BEYOND BORDERS
Japan Foundation distributes moving images of culturally enriched stage performances, many of which have been negatively affected by the ongoing pandemic.
日本映画における女性パイオニア
A newly launched project by several scholars aims to introduce how female filmmakers in Japan trailblazed the industry.
戯曲デジタルアーカイブ
New database for a variety of scripts for stage performances in Japan launched on 2/28/21 by 日本劇作家協会.
JAPAN DIGITAL THEATRE ARCHIVES
Enpaku, the Theatre Museum of Waseda University, newly launches a database to search information related to the video recordings of the Japanese performing arts in three domains, spanning contemporary theatre, dance & traditional performing arts.
*************************************************
Ryukyu/Okinawa-related Materials Digital Special Collections
琉球･沖縄関係貴重資料デジタルアーカイブ
IIIF based database provided by the University of the Ryukyus officially launched on 08/03/2020
********************************************************
Cultural Japan
A newly launched IIIF-based database for Japanese art enables globally consolidated research from worldwide digital repositories.
*********************************************************
Glass Photographic Plates of the Murals at Hōryūji Temple in Nara
Digital Viewers launched for the pictures taken in 1935 before the Golden Hall burned in 1949.
Rōkyoku (Naniwabushi) Digital Archive is now open on the Nichibunken website
Retrieved from (http://www.nichibun.ac.jp/pc1/en/) on 06/24/2020
「台帳」なくして文化なし!?　マンガ・アニメ・ゲーム・メディアアート文化を次の1000年に残す「メディア芸術データベース」の意義を「電ファミニコゲーマー」が訊く
Retrieved from メディア芸術カレントコンテンツ (https://mediag.bunka.go.jp/) on 06/23/2020