Beware of pop-up blockers!
When searching some databases on some vendors - such as FirstSearch, and undoubtedly others - when you choose the option to export records to RefWorks, the database website wants to open a new window in your browser to do that. If you have a pop-up blocker enabled, it can appear that nothing happened - and the error message may go by so quickly you don't see it.
So, when trying to export records from a database, if there are problems the first thing to try is to turn off your pop-up blocker, and try it again. If you use that database often, you might want to add that vendor's website to the exception list in your pop-up blocker - so you can have the blocker turned on, but still allow pop-ups from that vendor site. If you use databases from off-campus as well as on-campus, you might want to set your pop-up blocker to allow *.libproxy.wustl.edu - which will allow pop-ups from any database or ejournal site that you've accessed through the library proxy server, without having to specify each one.
Directions for Importing Citations from BDSL into RefWorks
Currently there is no direct export option for citations from the BDSL into RefWorks. Nevertheless, it's quite easy to quickly add these to your RefWorks database.
Step-by-step directions:
- Open up BDSL using Internet Explorer or current version of Firefox. Note: older versions of Firefox were not working for importing from BDSL. (As of 11-25-08, there's a problem using Firefox for importing. Use IE. RefWorks is aware of this problem)
- Conduct your search.
- Mark the records you want and save the desired citations ("Speichern")
- Under your Auswahlliste, select Dublin Core. A new window will open up
- Select all and copy.
- In RefWorks, in the menu select IMPORT under REFERENCES.
- For INPUT FILTER/DATA SOURCE, select "Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft"
- For DATABASE, select DUBLIN CORE.
- ENCODING: ANSI Latin I
- In the box labeled IMPORT DATA FOR THE FOLLOWING TEXT, paste the citations.
- Click on Import.
- Double-check your citations in RefWorks for accuracy.
EventID Errors
RefWorks is experiencing reports of some users encountering EventID errors when working in their account. If you encounter this problem first clear your cache/cookies to ensure that you are not caching an incorrect version of the program. Here are instructions for clearing your cache/cookies:
If you are using Internet Explorer, follow these steps:
1) From the Tools menu, select Internet Options
2) Choose the General Tab
3) Next to Temporary Internet File, click delete
4) Click Close, and then click OK to exit
If you are using FireFox for Windows, follow this step:
1) From the Tools Menu, select Clear Private Data and then click check Cache. Then click Clear Private Data Now
If you are using Safari, follow these steps:
1) From the Safari menu, select Empty Cache
2) When prompted, click Empty to confirm that you want to empty the cache
If you are using FireFox for Mac OS X, follow these steps:
1) In FireFox, from the Tools Menu, select Clear Private Data
2) Make sure Cache is checked, and then click Clear Private Data Now.
If you continue having issues, you can contact RefWorks directly at support@refworks.com.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait