List of subscribed databases in Japanese and Korean languages
Last Updated: Dec 9, 2013
The following is the list of Japanese databases Wash U subscribes to.
For a more comprehensive list of openly accessible resources on Japanese Studies, visit Japanese Studies Research Guide.
All subscription-based databases require on-campus access OR proxy login. Please refer to this page for more information.
- Japan Knowledge
A portal to multiple encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases in Japanese.
- Kokushi Daijiten (国史大辞典)
Dictionary of Japanese History
- Yomidas Rekishikan
includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.
- Zasshikiji Sakuin Shusei Database (ざっさくプラス: 雑誌記事索引集成データベース)
Index to major to local periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, from 1868 to present.
- Nikkei Telecom 21
Full text search through 64 newspapers, including The Nikkei (former The Nihon Keizai Shimbun), The Nikkei Business Daily, The Nikkei Financial Daily, The Nikkei MJ, Asahi Shimbun, Yomiuri Shimbun, Mainichi Shimbun and Sankei Shimbun, and 59 magazines going back 30 years. Other resources include Nikkei corporation profile, Nikkei Who's who, stock quotations, bond quotations, economic indicators, market forecasts, and in English, Nikkei weekly and Nikkei major articles.