WUSTL News
African American HistoryArchitectureWomen and Gender Studies
Historical Newspapers
AMCS 475 American Culture: Methods and Visions 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

University Archives  Tags: university_history st_louis_history african_american_history architecture history urban_planning women  

University Archives is comprised of more than 300 unique collections, most of which document the history of Washington University from 1853 to today. Other collections are related to 20th century St. Louis history.
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/universityarchives  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Architecture             Print Page
  
 

Architecture Resources at University Archives

Collections held by University Archives on this topic include architectural drawings for residential and commercial buildings from various St. Louis architects including Harris Armstrong, William Bernoudy, and Maritz & Young; Dept. of Architecture publications; photographs of various architectural structures from the 19th century from the Russell Sturgis Photograph Collection; and material compiled by the Washington University Technology Associates, Inc. to document, restore, and preserve the physical properties of three-dimensional artwork; and more. 

Finding Aids by Subject: Architecture

Finding aids for select collections:

  • Harris Armstrong Collection  
    Harris Armstrong was an architect in St. Louis, 1930s-1960s. The collection includes architectural drawings for his residential and commercial projects, personal and professional development material, and publications featuring prominent architects etc.
  • William Bernoudy Collection  
    William Bernoudy was an architect in St. Louis, 1930s-1970s. The collection includes architectural drawings for his residential and commercial projects.
  • Maritz and Young Collection  
    Raymond E. Maritz and Ridgely Young were responsible for designing residences and commercial edifices primarily in St. Louis County, Clayton, Ladue, and University City, Missouri. This collection includes architectural drawings for their projects.
  • Russell Sturgis Photograph Collection  
    The collection consists of approximately 15,000 photos collected by Russell Sturgis, focusing primarily on architectural details, topographical views, sculpture, and paintings from all over the world, dating from the mid to late 1800s.
  • Architectural Competition Information Files (Hilltop Campus, 1899)  
    The collection includes material relating to the Washington University Hilltop campus (now the Danforth Campus) architectural competition in 1899, including background information, competition drawings, and more.
  • Architectural Competition Information Files (Olin Library, 1956)  
    The collection includes material relating to the Washington University Olin Library architectural competition in 1956, including background information, competition drawings, and more.
  • Architectural Competition Information Files (Mudd and Eliot Hall, 1965)  
    The collection includes material relating to the Washington University Mudd/Eliot Hall architectural competition in 1965, including background information, competition drawings, and more.
  • Washington University Technology Associates Records  
    Washington University Technology Associates was a group that sought to document, restore, and preserve physical properties of 3-D artwork. The collection includes project files, correspondence, publicity, and related literature.
  • George E. Kassabaum Papers  
    George E. Kassabaum founded the architectural firm of Hellmuth, Obata, and Kassabaum in St. Louis in 1955. This collection contains the speeches and professional association correspondence of George E. Kassabaum.
  • Buford L. Pickens Collection  
    Buford L. Pickens was a WashU Architecture professor (1953-1974), Dean of the School of Architecture, and Director of Campus Planning. This collection contains primarily material from his presentation detailing examples of the WashU campus architecture.
  • Publications (Architecture)  
    This collection contains WashU publications relating to Architecture, including dept. newsletters and bulletins, info about events, graduate programs, and course descriptions.
 

University Archivist

Profile ImageSonya Rooney
Contact Info:
University Archives
West Campus Library
314-935-9730
Send Email

Subjects:
University history, St. Louis history

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait