Contact Info
Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Dowd Illustration Research Archive: interim curator
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
American History Librarian
Michael Schaefer
Contact:
Washington University in St. Louis
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365
Finding Aids to Primary Sourcest: 1970s America
This guide contains an overview of archive collections that include primary sources that are broadly related to the American history, politics, and culture in the 1970s. Topics include Earth Day, environmentalism, urban decay and renewal, sexual revolutions, national politics, disco, and more.
Collections below are located at Special Collections in Olin LIbrary. Click each title for more information:
- Environmental Response Records
This link opens in a new window
Environmental Response was a broadly based group, with participation by Washington University students and faculty, and local interested citizens. Formed in Spring 1970, it was an outgrowth of Project Survival at Washington University during the first Earth Week. - WUSTL YearbooksThe Book and a Yearbag [1969-70]
Pandora’s Box [1970-71]
The Hatchet, Vol. 70, 1973
The Hatchet, Vol. 71, 1974
The Hatchet, Vol. 72, 1975
The Hatchet, Vol. 73, 1976
The Hatchet, Vol. 74, 1977
The Hatchet, Vol. 75, 1978
Quadrangles, Vol. 1, 1979-80 - Urban decay in St. Louis / by the Institute for Urban and Regional Studies, Washington UniversityPublished in 1972 this document examines how St. Louis population shifts, crime, schools, transportation, and more.
- Women's Resource Center (WRC) Records
- This link opens in a new window
Includes flyers related to the 1979 and 1980 St. Louis Pride events (Series 01, Box 01, "HerStory 1973-80, folder 2") - City of St. Louis, Mayor's Office & Board of AldermanRelevant sections:
Mayor Alfonso J. Cervantes (1965-1973)
Mayor John H. Poelker (1973-1977)
Mayor James F. Conway (1977-1981) - includes Bicentennial in St. Louis
Board of Alderman, C.B. Broussard (1969-1975)
Board of Alderman, Joseph Badaracco (1972-1975)
City Executive Secretary A.J. Wilson (1971–1976) - 4th National Conference on Men and Masculinity RecordsThis collection documents the planning and promotion of the 1977 conference at Washington University. It includes audio recordings of various session and speakers at the conference, and related conference ephemera.
- Black Film Promotional Material CollectionThe collection contains ca. 2,700 promotional items including photographic stills, programs, advertising materials, lobby cards, pressbooks, and posters, representing approximately 400 films, ranging in date from 1915 to 1980.
- Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Series 01 includes documents from both the local WUSTL chapter of SDS, and the national organization. Series 02 includes unusual pamphlets and publications from China, Cuba, Laos, Sri Lanka, North Korea and elsewhere (in English) along with anti-war publications from independent newspapers in the USA (most dating from the 1960s and 1970s) - WU Student Union: Files of President Ben Zaricor, 1963-1974
- This link opens in a new window
- Evening Whirl Newspaper Collection
- This link opens in a new window
St. Louis crime newspaper from circa 1950 - present - See Box 2 for items dating 1971-1979
Collections below are from the Modern Graphic History Library, contact slacerte@WUSTL.EDU for more information.
- Humanities Comics Collection (MGHL00016),
- This link opens in a new window
Includes comic books, periodicals, pulp magazines, graphic novels, manga, foreign-language comics, and self-published magazines (1945-2005)
Periodicals at Olin Library
- The sporting news [microform].Call Number: HOF4-5,etc. | Olin Level A MicroformsIssues from the 1970s are only available on microfilm; online access starts with mid-1980s.
Online Primary Sources
- America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowFBI reports dealing with antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW), and their surveillance of antiwar student groups and Communist organizations. Contains over 20,000 pages between 1967-1975.
More Resources
Collections at other local / regional archives. Please contact each listed organization for more info:
- Gay and Lesbian Collections (State Historical Society-St. Louis )Collections include "St. Louis Lesbian and Gay Archives; Collection, 1972-1992" and others
- Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now (ACORN) Records, 1972-1980 (State Historical Society)Missouri ACORN began its first neighborhood organizing effort in St. Louis in Spring of 1976.