Skip to Main Content

Henry Hampton Collection Guide

This guide will help you to use the Henry Hampton Collection at the Film and Media Archive, Washington University in St. Louis

From the Archive: James Farmer Interview

In this 1995 interview, James Farmer, co-founder of the Congress of Racial Equality, remembers serving in jail for his participation in the 1961 Freedom Rides.

Copyright Warning

The contents of the above video are protected under U.S. Copyright Law.  It has been assembled for research purposes only and may not be duplicated or broadcast or otherwise transmitted in whole or in part without written consent of the Washington University Film Archive or the appropriate copyright owner. 

SEARCH

The Film and Media Archive contains a vast array of audiovisual and printed materials related to 20th-century American, African-American, and African history and culture.  At this time, most of our holdings are not yet available to be viewed on-line; however, you may search descriptions of our holdings using the search options below.
The box below searches the entire Washington University Libraries Catalog, including the Film and Media Archive:
 

To search only the Film and Media Archive, click here.

For a tutorial on searching the Film and Media Archive catalog, click here.  


If you find a description of interest, please contact the archive to get more information about gaining access to the physical item(s). We will be happy to assist you!  Please note that new descriptions are added to the catalog every day so if you don't get a hit, we may still have holdings of interest to you. Even if you get some hits, there may be additional materials not yet in the catalog.   Bottom line: it's always a good idea to speak with our staff about what we have in the archive that might relate to your research. 
The Film and Media Archive consists of the production materials (e.g., oral history interviews, stock footage, photographs, historical records) accumulated by several major documentary filmmakers in the course of creating their films.  The filmmakers include Henry Hampton, who is best known for the award-winning Eyes on the Prizeseries about the Civil Rights Movement, and William Miles, the producer of films such as Men of Bronze and I Remember Harlem.