Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Using RSS to Keep Up With Psychology  Tags: rss google web2.0 citeulike refworks citation reference  

Sites with regularly updated content, such as journals, frequently offer newsfeeds of their content. These feeds permit subscription to regular updates, delivered automatically to you, transforming the way you work and stay current on the web.
Last update: Apr 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/rss  Print Guide  RSS Updates

RSS and Citation Managers             Print Page
  

Reference Sharing Tools

A common way of sharing items of interest is email. There are much easier ways to share and these tools allow new ways to share what you're reading.

  • CiteULike  
      
    CiteULike is a free service to help you to store, organise and share the scholarly papers you are reading. When you see a paper on the web that interests you, you can click one button and have it added to your personal library.
  • del.icio.us  
      
    del.icio.us is a social bookmarking website -- store your bookmarks online, allowing access to your bookmarks from any computer and you can add bookmarks from anywhere, too. Use tags to organize and remember your bookmarks, more flexible than folde.
  • RefShare from RefWorks  
      
    The Shared Area Page is an optional feature initiated by the subscribing Institution. All RefWorks Users in an Institution will be able to view posted folders or databases, and print, export or create bibliographies if allowed by the folder/database owner

Endnote

 

LibX Toolbar

If you work off-campus or use a lot of non-Library tools to conduct online research and literature searches, you need the LibX Toolbar!

More information.

Note: Although there is an Internet Explorer version, it is not recommended.

 
 

CiteULike

  • To add items to your citeulike library, install a bookmarklet to your browser. When you are on a page that you want to cite, click on the bookmarklet and it will often automatically format your reference for adding. If it does not, you can manually add information to your database. Once you have references in your library, you can export them in a format that can be imported into any reference manager
  • Citeulike supports the following websites for automatic importing:
ACL Anthology | AIP Scitation | Amazon | American Chem. Soc. Publications | American Geophysical Union | American Meteorological Society Journals | Annual Reviews | Anthrosource | arXiv.org e-Print archive | Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) portal | BioMed Central | Blackwell Synergy | BMJ | Cambridge University Press | CiteSeer | Cryptology ePrint Archive | DBLP | EdITLib | Education Resources Information Center | HighWire | IEEE Explore | informaworld | Ingenta | IngentaConnect | IoP Electronic Journals | IUCr | IWA Publishing Online | Journal of Machine Learning Research | JSTOR | Mary Ann Liebert | MathSciNet | MetaPress | NASA Astrophysics Data System | National Bureau of Economic Research | Nature | Open Repository | Optical Society of America | Physical Review Online Archive | PLoS | PLoS Biology | Project MUSE | PsyCONTENT | PubMed | PubMed Central | Royal Society | Science | ScienceDirect | Scopus | Social Science Research Network | SpringerLink | Usenix | Wiley InterScience
  • Why is it "social"? You can share your library with others, and find out who is reading the same papers as you. In turn, this can help you discover literature which is relevant to your field but you may not have known about. The more people who use CiteULike, and the more they use it, the better it becomes as a resource. You can help with this process just by using CiteULike and through the invite a friend feature.
  • How can I organize my papers? CiteULike has a flexible filing system based on tags. You can choose whichever tags you want, and apply as many as you like to a paper. You can use tags to group papers together.

  • Can I import my existing references into CiteULike? Yes. Create a BibTeX file containing your references and then import it into CiteULike by using the "Import" link at the top of your "Library" tab.

  • What are "groups"? Groups are collections of users creating shared libraries of links. They are useful for keeping track of a particular topic or what everyone else in a lab, class or academic department is reading. You can start your own groups and join existing groups.

 

Refworks

RefWorks Logo

Getting Information From RSS Feeds Into RefWorks

RefWorks has integrated a RSS (Really Simple Syndication) Feed Reader so you can easily:

  • add your favorite RSS Feeds from publishers and websites
  • view the information
  • import data into your RefWorks database

RSS feeds can include headlines, short descriptions of the feed, and other information.

To Add a RSS Feed:

  1. Locate the RSS feed you wish to include.
  2. Right mouse click on the RSS icon and select Copy Shortcut
  3. From within RefWorks select RSS Feed from the Search Menu
  4. Paste the shortcut into the text bar and click the Add RSS Feed button
  5. Your feeds will be listed alphabetically by the title of the feed which has been provided by the feed itself. The list will also include the feed provider’s description.

To View RSS Data and Import:

  1. Launch the RSS Feed by clicking on the name link. Your feed results will be displayed in a separate window
  2. Select the records you wish to import by clicking on the appropriate checkboxes.
  3. Select a folder to import your records to in the Put in Folder drop-down.
  4. After the import you will be taken to the Import view in RefWorks. (or whatever you are using for this page). Click on View Last Imported to see the feeds.

To Delete a RSS Feed:

  1. Click on the delete link to the right of your feed name

To Edit the Information Displayed on the RSS Feed Page:

  1. Click on the edit link to the right of your feed name
  2. Make any changes to the URL, Name or Description
  3. Click Save

From RefWorks Help Pages

Other Interesting Reference Managers

  • Papers  
      
    Mac-only, designed by researchers, currently has an engineering bias. This recently released tool has an incredibly elegant interface and is constantly adding new features. Can search some databases; RSS support is forthcoming. $42
 

Technology Guide

Profile ImageSarah Bombich
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Washington University in St. Louis
Olin Library Arc
Level A
935-6003
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait