Electronic JournalsIslamic Studies Databases
Electronic Reference Sources
Academic OrganizationsBlogsEconomic and Political OrganizationsGovernment WebsitesResearch MaterialsSocial Organizations
Intro to Islamic Civ (JINES/HIST 210) Karamustafa Late Ottoman Middle East (HIST 3142) Reynolds Fall 2009 Learning Arabic Learning Persian Lyrics of Mystical Love: East and West (JINES 390) Keshavarz Sufism: Mystics in Islamic History (JINES/HIST 39T8) Karamustafa 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Islamic and Near Eastern Studies Research Guide  Tags: islam middle_east near_east muslim  

Information on the Islamic Near East
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/islamic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Islamic Art

(Above, an illustration of an enamaled glass vase featuring Arabic script. The illustration was executed by Emile Prise d'Avennes and was published in 1877. It is not clear in which era the vase originated. Source: NYPL Digital Collection.)

Resources and Services

 

Off Campus Access

While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current Washington University student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.

 
 

Find It! Islamic and Near Eastern Studies

Note: You must also click Go to initiate search on Find it! MultiSearch screen.

Interdisciplinary Databases

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Full-text. Journal index. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. The database offers indexing & abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection
  • Art and Humanities Citiation Index, via Web of Science (1988- )  
      
    Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Print version for 1976-1985 in Olin Level 1 Reference: AI3 A63
  • Art and Humanities Citation Index (OCLC) (1980- )  
      
    Same database as above, via FirstSearch. Please use this version ONLY if you require data from 1980-1987. Updated weekly.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Full-text, journal index. About 100 scholarly journals, most recent 3-5 years. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
  • WorldCat  
      
    Information about books, journal titles, videos, and materials in other formats owned by more than 15,000 U.S. and foreign libraries. DOES NOT INCLUDE JOURNAL ARTICLES.
  • MLA Bibliography (1926- )  
      
    Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Washington University students, faculty and staff may forward article requests directly from this database to Interlibrary Loan.
  • Biography Index  
      
    Some full-text. Index to autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.
  • Dissertations and Thesis (ProQuest)  
      
    Complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations and theses accepted at accredited institutions. Viewable 24-page previews of many dissertations and theses. To request a thesis, logon on to ILLiad and fill out form.
  • Gender Watch (1974- )  
      
    A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Over 31,000 full text articles from 115 publications and archival material.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- ) (8 Concurrent users)  
      
    Provides access to global information on women from journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Updated 26 times/year.
  • Ethnic News Watch (1990- )  
      
    Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, covering areas ranging from focused ethnic area studies to the arts, business, education, the environment, history, journalism, political science
  • United Nations (via AccessUN) (1991- )  
      
    Provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.
  • United Nations, Official Documents (1993- )  
      
    Full-text. Official UN documentation; older material is being added.
 

Islamic Studies Librarian

Profile ImageJaleh Fazelian


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
West Campus Library
On Tuesdays: Olin Library
Call or email to make an appointment.
314-935-5714
Send Email

Subjects:
Islamic and Near Eastern Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait