Electronic JournalsIslamic Studies Databases
Electronic Reference Sources
Academic OrganizationsBlogsEconomic and Political OrganizationsGovernment WebsitesResearch MaterialsSocial Organizations
Intro to Islamic Civ (JINES/HIST 210) Karamustafa Late Ottoman Middle East (HIST 3142) Reynolds Fall 2009 Learning Arabic Learning Persian Lyrics of Mystical Love: East and West (JINES 390) Keshavarz Sufism: Mystics in Islamic History (JINES/HIST 39T8) Karamustafa 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Islamic and Near Eastern Studies Research Guide  Tags: islam middle_east near_east muslim  

Information on the Islamic Near East
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/islamic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Materials             Print Page
  

Qur'anic Materials

  • al-Qur'an - Shakir Translation  
      
    The translation of M. H. Shakir published by Tahrike Tarsile Qur'an.
  • USC Compendium of Muslim Texts  
      
    The MSA-USC Qur’an Database is a useful resource for Islamic studies. It features multiple English translations of the Qur’an and the Hadith collections of Bukhari and Muslim. This database is sponsored by the Muslim Student Association of USC.
  • al-Tafsir  
      
    Al-Tafsir is a useful resource for Qur’anic studies. It features a collection of Qur’anic commentaries (tafsir), recitations, and searchable translations (English and Arabic). It is sponsored by the Jordanian government.
 

Miscellaneous Source Materials

  • Arabnet  
      
    Arabnet's aim is to provide the most comprehensive online resource on the Arab world, primarily dealing with countries in the Middle East and North Africa.
  • The Avalon Project  
      
    Dedicated to providing access via the World Wide Web to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. An excellent resource for historical UN declarations and agreements.
  • Glossary of Islamic Terms and Concepts  
      
    This list, maintained by the Muslim Students Association at USC, offers a quick reference for useful definitions.
  • Gulf/2000 Project  
      
    Designed to make available in a single location a wealth of information on the eight countries of the Persian Gulf region--Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.
  • International Portals to the World  
      
    Links to internet resources about countries of the world selected by Library of Congress subject experts. Organized by country.
  • Islamic Philosophy Online  
      
    The Islamic Philosophy site features resources and profiles of Islamic, Arab, Persian, and Christian philosophers from the Abbasid period to the present.
  • MENALIB  
      
    A collaborative venture of international libraries, MENALIB is coordinated by the University and State Library Saxony-Anhalt, Halle in an attempt to combine contributors' resources into a virtual library of materials on the Middle East and North Africa.
  • Middle East Media Research Institute  
      
    MEMRI bridges the language gap which exists between the West and the Middle East, providing translations of Arabic, Persian, and Turkish media, as well as analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends.
  • Middle East Network Information Center (MENIC)  
      
    MENIC is an online guide to Middle East-related websites and databaseIt is created by a staff of editors who visit and evaluate web sites, and then organize them into subject-based categories and sub-categories.
  • Middle East Research and Information Project  
      
    MERIP publishes regular journals and articles discussing a number of social, political, and economic issues current within the Middle East.
  • Seasons  
      
    The journal “Seasons” is a bi-annual publication and forum for Muslim and non-Muslim scholars exploring theological and political issues in the Muslim world.
  • Travellers in the Middle East, Archive  
      
    A digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
 

Islamic Studies Librarian

Profile ImageJaleh Fazelian


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
West Campus Library
On Tuesdays: Olin Library
Call or email to make an appointment.
314-935-5714
Send Email

Subjects:
Islamic and Near Eastern Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait