RefWorks
RefWorks is an easy to use web-based citation manager available to the WU community that allows you to import and format your citations.
RefWorks can...
... create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc.
... import citations from databases and the WU Catalog.
... quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA, ...).
... help you easily share references with others.
Compare RefWorks to other citation managers (From the University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Ancient Authors and their Works (Primary Texts)
For the most part citations of ancient works begin with the author's name (sometimes abbreviated), followed by a short or abbreviated title of the work, usually in italics. (In cases when only work by a particular author is known, the title is often omitted.) This is followed by a sequence of numbers and/or letters that indicate the specific subdivisions of the work. Exactly how works are subdivided varies from author to author. Books, chapter, and/or line numbers are often provided. Some works are cited by page numbers of standard, or once-standard, editions. Scholarly editions of these texts will be subdivided by these schemes, as will some translations.
For more information see the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition (Chicago, 2003) §§17.250–260, also available online. See also The SBL Handbook of Style For Ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies (Peabody, MA, 1999), §8.3.14.
Abbreviations should be taken from an authoritative source, such as the Oxford Classical Dictionary(see below). You should also provide bibliographic details of the edition and/or translation of the work you are using: generally when the work first appears in your notes and in your bibliography.
Classical Authors and their Works
- Greek-English lexicon / compiled by Henry George Liddell and Robert Scott (LSJ) (Oxford, 1996) Olin Reference PA445.E5 L6 1996
- Oxford classical dictionary / edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. 3rd edition (Oxford, 2003) Olin Reference DE5 .O9 2003 and Online [Also includes abbreviations for some periodicals, collections, and reference works.]
- Oxford Latin dictionary (Oxford, 1968–)Olin Reference PA2365 E5 O9 4o
- See also: Ancient Reference Abbreviations: A partial list from Interactive Mediterranean Project at UNC
Early Christian and Byzantine Authors and Works
- Clavis Patrum Graecorum / cura et studio Mauritii Geerard. (Turnout, 1974–) 5 vols. Olin Stacks Z7791 G43 1974
- Clavis patrum latinorum / commode recludit Eligius Dekkers. (Steenburgen, 1995) Olin Stacks BR60 .C49 1995
- Oxford dictionary of Byzantium / Alexander P. Kazhdan, editor in chief 3 vols. (Oxford, 1991) Olin Stacks DF521 O93 1991 and online
- Patristic Greek lexicon / edited by G. W. H. Lampe (Oxford, 1961) Olin Reference PA881 P3 1961
Some additional points
- Square brackets [ ] around an author name indicate that the authorship of the work is doubtful.
- A modern name or initials at the end of the reference usually indicates the editor of the specific edition being refered to.
- An equals signs connecting references indicates the text in question can be found in both works.
Journals, Reference Works, etc.
The abbreviations of journal titles in classical studies and related fields used by the Oxford Classical Dictionary and L'Anne philologique are widely used. For abbreviations not found there check Wellington's Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations. For archaeological periodicals see the abbreviations used by the American journal of archaeology.
- Abbreviations Used in L'Année Philologique

From the University of North Carolina at Greensboro - Liste des périodiques dépouillés [PDF]
List of all the journals examined for L'Année philologique with abbreviations - Abbreviations for the American Journal for Archaeology (AJA)

Abbreviations used in articles published in the AJA and used in many other publications - Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines / compiled by Jean Susorney Wellington
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983
Olin Reference PA99 W44 1983 - Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin and Byzantine
Searchable databases of titles and abbreviations of journals subscribed to by the University of Chicago Libraries. - All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources For journal abbreviations in other disciplines.
Subject Librarian |
Colin McCaffrey![]() |
Contact Info:
Olin Library 122
Reference Department
(314) 935-5492
Send Email
Subjects:
Philosophy, Classics, Linguistics, PNP
Classics News

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait