Book ReviewsClassics Call Numbers
Current Tables of ContentJournal Locations
Citation & AbbreviationsHistory of Scholarship
Current Tables of Contents 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Classics  Tags: classics philology latin greek ancient_studies  

A research guide to resources for classical philology and history at Washington University Libraries and on the Web.
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/classics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles            Print Page
  

Classics Links

Resources and Services

 

Library What's New


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Indexes and Databases

Online Databases and Indexes

  • L'Année philologique  
      
    Identifies publications in all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity. Coverage begins in 1949 and currently continues to 2006. The print version is available in the Olin Stacks Z 7016 M35A
  • Archäologische Bibliographie (Dyabola)  
      
    Based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute, the Archäologische Bibliographie is the major bibliographical database for classical archaeology.
  • Gnomon Online  
      
    On-line access to a portion of the Gnonom bibliographic CD-Rom, with a complete entries from 2005 and onwards. Indexes books, reference works, and dissertations as well as journal articles.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full-text Journal Databases, including several journals in Classics and related fields.
  • TOCS-IN  
      
    Searchable tables of contents of journals in classical studies and related fields.
  • International Medieval Database  
      
    '...the world's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.'
  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance  
      
    Bibliography of scholarly literature on the Middle Ages & the Renaissance.
  • ATLA Religion Database (1949- )  
    Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
 

JSTOR Search Box

 

Database Help

 

Classical Bibliography

Bibliographic Tools for Classical Philology

Major Indexes

L'Année philogique: Bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquité gréco-latine (APh, Marouzeau) Stacks Z7016 .M35A 1925-2006
L'Année philologique on the Internet (Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique with the APA and Database of Classical Bibliography) 1949-2006
http://libproxy.wustl.edu/login?url=http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/

Marouzeau J.Dix années de bibliographie classique (Paris: Les Belles Lettres, 1927) 2 vols. Ref. Z7016 .M35 1914-1924
Lambrino, S. Bibliographie de l'antiquité classique , 1896-1914 (Paris: Les Belles Lettres) vol. 1 only Stacks Z7016 L3. 1896-1914
Cousin, Jean. Bibliographie de la langue latine, 1880-1948. (Paris: Les Belles Lettres, 1951) Stacks Z7026 C6 1880-1948

The most comprehensive index of classical studies, it's published in an annual volume and also available online as a searchable database. It covers both books and periodicals, indexing individual contributions to Festschriften and other collective works as well as articles and book reviews. Brief abstracts in French, German, or English are provided for articles. The online version currently includes material from the 1949 (Vol. 20) to the most recent volume (v. 77 indexing publications from 2006.)

L'Annee is supplemented by Marouzeau's Dix années de bibliographie classique, which covers the decade (1914-1924) before the inception of L'Annee.Lambrino's Bibliographie was intended to extend this coverage further back, to where Klussman's Bibliotheca Scriptorum Classicorumstops (1896, see below). However, only the first volume dealing with ancient authors and omitting many important bibliographic details was completed. For the period, Bursian's Jahresbericht also needs to be consulted (see below). Cousin's more narrowly focused Bibliographie largely duplicates the coverage of L'Annee and Dix Annees, but includes earlier material.

Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift für die Gesamte klassiche Altertumwissenschaft
(1925-) Stacks PA3 .G6 and Current Periodicals
Gnomon Online: The Eichstätt Information System for Classical Studies 2005(?)-
http://www.gnomon.ku-eichstaett.de/Gnomon/en/Gnomon.html
Primarily a review journal, odd-numbered issues include a Bibliographische Beilage which lists recent publications (books and articles in journals and collections, and sometimes from reference works) in a thematic classification. While not as comprehensive as L'Annee and without abstracts, it is much more current and a useful source of information on new publications. It's subject classification is also much more precise than that of L'Annee. An index to Gnomon, with additional material, is periodically released on CD-Rom, part of which, including everything after 2005, is available freely-online. Gnomon Online is updated weekly, and while it also can be a bit difficult to search efficiently, it is a much more current than L'Annee.


TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html
A volunteer project based at the University of Toronto and the Université Catholique du Louvain that provides online access to the table of contents of Classics and related journals, including religious and ancient-near-eastern studies, and some collective works. No abstracts are provided and subject-indexing is minimal; however links are provided to further information and/or full-text resources when available. While coverage begins in 1992 or earlier, it is most useful for current awareness.


Selected Works for pre-Twentieth-Century Bibliography

Before 1700:
Fabricius, Johann Albert. Bibliotheca Graecae (Hildesheim : Olms, 1966-1970; Reprint of the Hamburg ed., 1790-1809). 12 vols. Stacks Z7021 F1 1966
idem. Bibliotheca latina mediae et infimae aetatia   (Graz: Akademische 1962 reprint ) 6 volumes in 3.  Stacks Z7026 F13 1858a
Extensive bibliographic handbooks on Greek and Latin literature. Arranged largely chronologically. Partially digitized texts of both titles are available from Documenta Catholica Omnia http://www.documentacatholicaomnia.eu/25_90_1668-1736-_Fabricius_JA.html

15th Century to 1820
Dibdin, Thomas Frognall. An introduction to the knowledge of rare and valuable editions of the Greek and Latin classics 4th edition. (London: Harding and Lepard, 1827) Rare Books Reference Z7016 D54 1827
Important source of bibliographic information for early printed editions of classical texts.
Volume 1 from the Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/details/introductiontokn01dibd
Volume 2 from the Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/details/introductiontokn02dibd

1700-1878  
Engelmann, Wilhelm. ed. Bibliotheca Scriptorum Classicorum 8. Aufl., umfassend die Literatur von 1700 bis 1878, neu bearb. Dr. von E. Preuss (Leipzig: W. Engelmann, 1880-1882). 2 vols. Stacks PA29 E6 1700-1878
Volume 1 (Greek) in Hathi Trust Digital Library http://hdl.handle.net/2027/mdp.39015034801962
Volume 2 (Latin) in Hathi Trust Digital Library http://hdl.handle.net/2027/mdp.39015011035675
Primary bibliography of philological publications of the 17th and 18th century.

1878-1896  
Klussmann, Bibliotheca Scriptorum Classicorum et Graecorum et Latinorum (Leipzig: Reisland, 1909-1913) 2 vols in 4. Not held by WashU

Sources for Literature Reviews and Surveys of Scholarship
 
Lustrum: Internationale Forschungsberichte aus dem Bereich des Klassischen Altertums (Göttingen, 1957-) DE1 L9 
http://catalog.wustl.edu/record=b1257005~S2
Jahresberichte über die Fortschritte der classischen Altertumswissenschaft (1873-1956) West Campus storage PA3 .J29
http://catalog.wustl.edu/record=b1258277~S2
Lustrum  publishes detailed bibliographic surveys of particular authors, genres, or topics in classical studies. A PDF index to volumes 1 to 45 is available. While very valuable for their depth, coverage is not systematic and many authors and themes have never been covered.
Lustrum continues in part the tradition of Conrad Bursian's Jahresberichte über die Fortschritte der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, commonly refered to simply as Bursian's Jahresbericht, In addition to review essays, the Jahresbericht includes a classified bibliography of books, articles, and dissertations, the Bibliotheca Philologica Classica. as well as detailed obituaries and bibliographies of individual classical scholars. Published from 1873-1956, it remains a very useful source for information on the classical scholarship of its day, especially in the German-speaking world.

Classical World
(Philadelphia, 1904-)
http://catalog.wustl.edu/record=b1240837~S2
Published by the Classical Association of the Atlantic States, it frequently includes bibliographic surveys on a range of classical topics.

Greece and Rome New Surveys in the Classics
(Series)
A monographic supplement to the journal Greece and Rome, provides overviews of the state-of-research on particular topics, genres, and authors.

Year's Work in Classical Studies (Bristol: Arrowsmith, 1906-1950) 33 vols. West Campus Storage PA11 C7
http://catalog.wustl.edu:80/record=b1728683~S2
Annual collection of review essays summarizing developments in classical scholarship sponsored by the Classical Association.

Platnauer, Maurice, ed. Fifty Years (and Twelve) of Classical Scholarship . 2nd edition. (New York: Barnes & Noble, 1968) Olin Stacks PA3001 F5 1968
Surveys of the state classical scholarship (as of 1968) with extensive references written by prominent British classicists

Temporini, Hildegard, ed. Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt : Geschichte und Kultur Roms im Spiegel der neueren Forschung (Berlin: De Gruyter, 1972–1997)Olin Stacks DG209 T36
Substantial (c 50 volumes) collection of survey articles on all aspects of Roman Antiquity, with extensive bibliographic references. Articles may be in German, French, English, or Italian. Tables of contents for each volume are available online from the Insitute for the Classical Tradition at Boston University.


Reference Guides

Halton, Thomas P. & Stella O'Leary. Classical Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography (White Plains, N.Y. : Kraus International, c1986) Olin Reference Z6207 C65 H34 1986
Annotated bibliography of reference works and some monographic publications.

Jenkins, Fred. W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature 2nd. ed. (Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.) Olin Reference Z7016 .J4 2006
Most up-to-date guide for Classical reference works (broadly considered).

Abbreviations

Wellington, Jean Susorney. Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines (Greenwood Press, 1983) Olin Reference  PA 99 W 44 1983


A helpful list of abbreviations used by the L'Annee philogique is available online from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro Libraries. http://library.uncg.edu/depts/ref/bibs/lannee_abbrev.asp

Miscellaneous

Rounds, Dorothy. Articles on antiquity in Festschriften, an index (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1962) Olin Z6202 R6

Pinax Online: An Annotated List of Web Bibliographies on the Ancient Greek World
http://perswww.kuleuven.be/~u0013314/pinaxonline.html
In addition to the online bibliographies mentioned above, many more-specialized bibliographies are available online. These are of varying provenance and quality. Pinax, maintained by Marc Huys at the Catholic University of Leuven is a decent guide to such bibliographies for ancient Greece.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageColin McCaffrey


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Olin Library 122
Reference Department
(314) 935-5492
Send Email

Subjects:
Philosophy, Classics, Linguistics, PNP

 

Classics News


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Del.icio.us Feed

Recently noted online resources for Classics


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait