About Melissa 
WU Scholarly Communications 
Using RSS to Keep Up With Psychology 
Call Numbers Experimental Psychology (L33 Psych 301) Human Behavior in Extreme Situations (Psych 4135) Literature Reviews Psychology of Language (Psych 433) PsycINFO User Guide Tests & Measures Tests & Measures - Reviews Videos/DVDs 
APA Style RefWorks Guide 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Psychology  Tags: apa literature_review tests_and_measurements rss refworks psych  

Research guide to support the study of Psychology at Washington University in St. Louis.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Getting Articles (Not held by WU Libraries)

ArticleReach is generally a very quick way to get articles that WU doesn't own. 

You can also request books, articles, and some DVDs through Interlibrary Loan.  There are no fees for either of these services.

  • ArticleReach Direct  
    ArticleReach Direct works much like Interlibrary Loan (below) and is often faster for locating articles. Articles are posted to your account in My Catalog usually within 2-3 days. You can also use My Catalog to check on the status of your requests.
  • Interlibrary Loan  
    Obtain books, articles, and other research materials you need. All articles will be posted electronically in your ILLiad account usually within 3-7 days. Books are available for pickup usually within 1-2 weeks at Olin's Help Desk. Notified via email.
 

Citing Sources

Need some help citing those articles you just found? 

Check out Harvard's tutorial, APA Exposed: Everything You Always Wanted to Know About APA Format but Were Afraid to Ask, or use RefWorks, a citation manager that the Libraries subscribe to.

Featured Resource

  • SpringerImages  
    SpringerImages is a searchable database of scientific images, photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables. The SpringerImages interface enables users to search through captions, keywords, context and more, even jumping from the image to the source article. Users can create personalized image "sets," and can easily export images for use in their own presentations or lectures (usually limited to educational, personal, scientific, or research purposes.)
 

Databases for finding articles and citations

  • PsycINFO (1887- )  
      
    Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Updated monthly.
  • PsycARTICLES (varies)  
      
    Contains full-text articles from APA and other journals, mostly from volume 1 of each journal. Updated weekly.
  • PsycCRITIQUES (1995- )  
      
    Full-text reviews of books, films, videos and software in the field of psychology.
  • Web of Science (1980- )  
      
    This database includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Updated weekly.

  • Academic Search Premier (1975- )  
      
    Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
  • Medline (1965- )  
      
    Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Covering more than 3,500 journals published internationally. Updated monthly.
  • PubMed  
      
    Includes Medline and PreMedline. Covering more than 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Updated monthly.

  • Google Scholar  
      
    Easily links to full-text sources available from WU (go to Scholar Preferences from off-campus to set up this feature). Useful for cited reference searching.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
    Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
  • ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts  
      
    Journal Index. Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information.
  • HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)  
      
    This database provides information about research and survey instruments, such as questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, and interview forms. A password is required for use -- contact the Help Desk or mvetter@wustl.edu for access.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (1973- )  
      
    "The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics."
  • History of Science, Technology and Medicine (1975- )  
      
    Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Updated quarterly.
  • ERIC (1966- )  
      
    Journal index. Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Updated monthly.
  • Dissertations & Theses  
      
    The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions. Note that you can view 24-page previews of many disserations & theses.
 

Find it! Psychology MultiSearch

Use Find it! to locate the psychology articles you're looking for.
Note: You must also click Go to initiate search on Find it! MultiSearch screen.


 

Psychology Librarian

Profile ImageMelissa Vetter


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Olin Library - 3rd Fl., Rm. 319
Washington University in St. Louis
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
p. 314.935.5079
e. mvetter@wustl.edu

Subjects:
Psychology

LibX toolbar

The LibX Library Toolbar gives you quick access to Washington University Libraries' electronic resources from your web browser. With LibX installed, all the power of the Washington University Libraries' catalog, Worldcat.org, Full-text Journals A-Z List, Google Scholar, and more are just a click or two away.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait