Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture
The most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the over four thousand year Classical period with more than 1,000 entries on art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, works of art, and archaeological sites. - Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Full text of over 600 entries covering the architecture, works of art, cultural significance, religion, and artistic developments of this 5,000-year civilization. - Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Contains over 3,000 articles of decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles defined, and the history of decorative arts are discussed.
- Oxford Companion to Archaeology Over 700 articles related to the archaeological traditions of western and non-western cultures.
- Oxford Art Online An authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth, signed full-text articles on the history of art written by noted scholars in their respective field of expertise.
- Oxford Reference Online Provides access to over 200 dictionaries and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press in a single cross-searchable resource.
- Britannica Online
Full text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. - Encyclopedia of Archaeology Full-text. '...encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.'
Databases
- Année Philologique Online
Index of scholarly publications relating to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome (500 BCE to 800 CE). Includes articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, and essays on the history, literature, language, art, archaeology, philosophy. - Archäologische Bibliographie (Projekt Dyabola)
Based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute, the Archäologische Bibliographie is the major bibliographical database for classical archaeology. - JSTOR
Full-text journal articles consisting of the complete back runs of about 120 journal titles. Moving wall of 3-5 years for each journal. - HRAF Archaeology
Covers world-wide archaeological traditions. Updated annually, it provides resources to the cross-cultural study of the world's prehistory. Subject searches include the arts, adornment, culture change, family, sociology, and religion among others. - Anthropology Plus Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, and more in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
- AnthroSource Full text. Brings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
- Art Full Text Covers 459 art periodicals, with full-text coverage of 120 journals beginning in 1997. Indexes articles and art reproductions from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Updated monthly.
Librarian |
Kasia LeousisOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait