DatabasesFull Text
18th & 19th Century ArtArchaeologyArt (Studio Arts) ArtArch 3301 Homeric Archaeology ArtArch 3410 Arts in Japanese Society ArtArch 3545 The Art and Architecture of Ancient Mesoamerica ArtArch 3782 Modern Art, Theory and Criticism 1905-1960 ArtArch 3838 Modern Art in fin-de-siecle Europe ArtArch 3879 Chance and Modern Art ArtArch 4015 Theories of Modern Art and Architecture ArtArch 408 Gender in Contemporary Art ArtArch 415 Feminist Art and Theory, 1970 to the Present ArtArch 4212 Contemporary Art in Exhibition ArtArch 4624 Michelangelo ArtArch 4877 Critical Studies in Portraiture ArtArch 4982 Public Art: History, Practice and Theory Humanities 332 Visual Culture Medieval & Early Modern Studies Medieval Art Modern Art & Critical Theory
Art Special CollectionsBook Reviews
Thesis Guidelines 
Online ReferencePrint Reference
Finding Digital Images Illustrated Bartsch 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Art History  Tags: art_history  

A guide to research in Art History.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/arthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

18th & 19th Century Art             Print Page
  

Encyclopedias

  • Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts  
      
    Contains over 3,000 articles of decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles defined, and the history of decorative arts are discussed.
  • Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment  
      
    Over 700 articles discussing the arts, culture, history, and social change from 1670 to 1815 over a wide geographical expanse including both Western and Eastern Europe, North and South America, and Russia.

Websites

 

Primary Sources

  • Empire Online  
      
    (1492-1962)
    Images of original documents from libraries and archives around the world relating to Empire Studies, including many materials from the British Library.
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800  
      
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819  
      
  • Early American Newspapers  
      
    (1690-1876)
    Full text collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and newspapers from the early decades of the United States documenting all aspects of society and culture.
  • Eighteenth Century Journals II  
      
    (1699-1812)
    Digitized rare journals providing a broad representation of eighteenth century print culture.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online  
      
    (1701-1800)
    Full text searching and page views of every significant book, broadside, Bible, tract book, sermon, and printed ephemera printed in the United Kingdom during the eighteenth century.
  • American Periodicals Series Online  
      
    (1740-1900)
    Journal index plus full-text. Page images of more than 1,100 journals. APS Online now includes over twenty journals whose coverage dates to 1940.
  • Chicago Tribune, Historical  
      
    (1849-1985)
    Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage ends in 1985, selected full text of this newspaper is available in LexisNexis Academic from 2002-present.
  • New York Times, Historical  
      
    (1851-2003)
    Deep backfile for The New York Times. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
  • HarpWeek  
      
    (1857-1912)
    HarpWeek includes the complete text of Harper's Weekly, full-page images, illustrations, and maps. Coverage spans the Civil War and the Reconstruction era through the Gilded Age. Searchable by a select era or in its entirety.
 

Librarian

Profile ImageKasia Leousis


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email

Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait