DatabasesFull Text
18th & 19th Century ArtArchaeologyArt (Studio Arts) ArtArch 3301 Homeric Archaeology ArtArch 3410 Arts in Japanese Society ArtArch 3545 The Art and Architecture of Ancient Mesoamerica ArtArch 3782 Modern Art, Theory and Criticism 1905-1960 ArtArch 3838 Modern Art in fin-de-siecle Europe ArtArch 3879 Chance and Modern Art ArtArch 4015 Theories of Modern Art and Architecture ArtArch 408 Gender in Contemporary Art ArtArch 415 Feminist Art and Theory, 1970 to the Present ArtArch 4212 Contemporary Art in Exhibition ArtArch 4624 Michelangelo ArtArch 4877 Critical Studies in Portraiture ArtArch 4982 Public Art: History, Practice and Theory Humanities 332 Visual Culture Medieval & Early Modern Studies Medieval Art Modern Art & Critical Theory
Art Special CollectionsBook Reviews
Thesis Guidelines 
Online ReferencePrint Reference
Finding Digital Images Illustrated Bartsch 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Art History  Tags: art_history  

A guide to research in Art History.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/arthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  

Databases for Art History

  • Année Philologique Online  
      
    Index of scholarly publications relating to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome (500 BCE to 800 CE). Includes articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, and essays on the history, literature, language, art, archaeology, philosophy.
  • Archäologische Bibliographie (Projekt Dyabola)  
      
    Based on the catalog of the German Archaeological Institute, the Archäologische Bibliographie is the major bibliographical database for classical archaeology.
  • Art Full Text  
      
    (1984 - present)
    Covers 459 art periodicals, with full-text coverage of 120 journals beginning in 1997. Indexes articles and art reproductions from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. Updated monthly.
  • Art Index Retrospective  
      
    (1929 - 1984)
    Includes citations to journal articles and art reproductions on all aspects of art, covering 607 noted foreign-language and English language publications world-wide.
  • ARTBibliographies Modern  
      
    (1974-Present)
    Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, and illustration.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  
      
    (1860-Present)
    Updated daily, Avery Index is the single most important bibliographical research tool available worldwide for research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history.
  • BHA-Bibliography of the History of Art  
      
    (1973-Present)
    Covering art history from late antiquity to the present, this database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 4,819 journals.
  • DAAI-Design and Applied Arts Index  
      
    (1973 - present)
    DAAI contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind
  • HRAF Archaeology  
      
    Covers world-wide archaeological traditions. Updated annually, it provides resources to the cross-cultural study of the world's prehistory. Subject searches include the arts, adornment, culture change, family, sociology, and religion among others.
  • Index Islamicus  
      
    (1906 - present)
    Index Islamicus database indexes over 3,000 journals on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Subjects covered include the archaeology, architecture, art history, history of the book, languages and religion of the Islamic
  • International Medieval Bibliography  
      
    (1967 - present)
    Interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa from the period 400-1500. The database comprises over 300,000 articles from over 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volumes.
  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance  
      
    (1859 - present)
    Iter indexes over 1,555 journal titles and selected essays from 3,701 scholarly collections related to inter-disciplinary subjects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Interlibrary Loan

 

Librarian

Profile ImageKasia Leousis


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email

Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait