DatabasesFull Text
18th & 19th Century ArtArchaeologyArt (Studio Arts) ArtArch 3301 Homeric Archaeology ArtArch 3410 Arts in Japanese Society ArtArch 3545 The Art and Architecture of Ancient Mesoamerica ArtArch 3782 Modern Art, Theory and Criticism 1905-1960 ArtArch 3838 Modern Art in fin-de-siecle Europe ArtArch 3879 Chance and Modern Art ArtArch 4015 Theories of Modern Art and Architecture ArtArch 408 Gender in Contemporary Art ArtArch 415 Feminist Art and Theory, 1970 to the Present ArtArch 4212 Contemporary Art in Exhibition ArtArch 4624 Michelangelo ArtArch 4877 Critical Studies in Portraiture ArtArch 4982 Public Art: History, Practice and Theory Humanities 332 Visual Culture Medieval & Early Modern Studies Medieval Art Modern Art & Critical Theory
Art Special CollectionsBook Reviews
Thesis Guidelines 
Online ReferencePrint Reference
Finding Digital Images Illustrated Bartsch 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Art History  Tags: art_history  

A guide to research in Art History.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/arthistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Online Reference             Print Page
  

Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias



  • Oxford Art Online  
      
    An authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth, signed full-text articles on the history of art written by noted scholars in their respective field of expertise.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    Art & Architecture Dictionaries. The Premium Collection brings together over 100 key Oxford subject dictionaries and reference works - containing over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource.
  • Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium  
      
    Exhaustive coverage of over 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Entries range from patriarchy and emperors to entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this important culture and empire, from the 4th to 15th c.
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture  
      
    The most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the over four thousand year Classical period with more than 1,000 entries on art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, works of art, and archaeological sites.
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts  
      
    Contains over 3,000 articles of decorative arts production in western and non-western cultures over thousands of years. The historic uses of diverse materials are included, art forms and styles defined, and the history of decorative arts are discussed.
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture  
    Full-text. '...this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history."
  • Encyclopedia of Archaeology  
    Full-text. '...encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.'
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt  
      
    Full text of over 600 entries covering the architecture, works of art, cultural significance, religion, and artistic developments of this 5,000-year civilization.
  • Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages  
      
    Covers the art, architecture, religions and cultures of medieval Europe from the fifth to the fifteenth century. Includes information relating to the rise of Islam and non-western cultures that came into contact with Europeans during this period.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation  
      
    Over 1,200 entries covering the religious and social change that occurred in Europe during the sixteenth century.
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance  
      
    With more than 4,000 entries, this reference work covers the art, architecture, culture, literature, history, and includes biographies of important historical figures in Europe from the fourteenth to seventeenth centuries.
  • Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment  
      
    Over 700 articles discussing the arts, culture, history, and social change from 1670 to 1815 over a wide geographical expanse including both Western and Eastern Europe, North and South America, and Russia.
  • Britannica Online  
    Full text of the Encyclopædia Britannica.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline  
    Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History from 20,000 BCE to the Present. Includes thematic essays, world maps, and works of art index for the over 6,000 objects from the Met's collections featured on the timeline.
  • Digital Library for the Decorative Arts & Material Culture  
    Open access resource from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Contains the Chipstone and Longridge collections of early American furniture, 17th/18th century ceramics, and 17th-19th century prints.
 

Librarian

Profile ImageKasia Leousis


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Art & Architecture LIbrary
Kemper Museum Building
314-935-4377
Send Email

Subjects:
Art History, Studio Arts, Romance Languages & Literatures

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait