Digital ArchivesDigital CollectionsDigital Collections at Wash. U. Digital LibrariesDigital/Electronic Scholarly Editions
Dan Cohen's Digital Humanities BlogDigital History HacksDigital Humanities ScholarshipHASTACHorothesiaHumLab - video seminarsLorcan Dempsey's weblogMaryland Institute for Technology in the HumanitiesMatthew G. KirschenbaumPlanet Code4LibResearch ForwardStephen RamsayStoa Consortium
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Digital Humanities  Tags: digital_humanities digital_collections metadata humanities  

Digital Humanities is a multi-disciplinary field that combines traditional study in the humanities with the resources of information technology. This cross-section of scholarly work and technology creates new opportunities for research and publishing.
Last update: Jul 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/digihumanities  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Digital Humanities

 

Terms

The terms, digital library, digital archive, digital collection, and digital/electronic scholarly editions are sometimes used interchangebly in discussing Digital Humanities.  However, there are differences between the terms and not recognizing that can lead to misunderstandings.

Digital Library: A collection of digital resources.

Digital Archive: Similar to a digital library, but usually focused on a particular area.

Digital Collection: A cohesive resource that belongs to either a digital library or archive.

Digital/Electronic Scholarly Editions: A digitally published text that focuses on a specific subject and is created by one or more scholars with in-depth subject knowledge.  It is the electronic equivalent to a critical edition.

 

Metadata Librarian

Profile ImageTim Lepczyk
Contact Info:
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait