Writing 1 resources 
RefWorks! 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

English and American Literature  Tags: american_literature amlit literature english united_states_literature irish_literature renaissance medieval 19th_century_british 20th_century 20th_century_transatlantic anglophone_caribbean_literatures british early_modern restoration 18th_century theory  

Resources and services
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find articles (databases)             Print Page
  

Complete database list

These links connect to a list via the Multisearch groups.  Click "All" and then "Go" to see complete list of subject databases.

ECCO and EEBO

  • ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online)  
      
    Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material.
  • Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1475 - 1700)  
      
    Full-text. Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
 

Literature search

  • MLA Bibliography (1926-)  
      
    Journal index. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Updated ten times per year.
  • Literature Online (LION Complete) (4 concurrent users allowed)  
      
    'A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources.'
  • Project MUSE  
      
    Full-text, journal index. About 100 scholarly journals, most recent 3-5 years. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including arts and literature.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full-text. Journal index. JSTOR consists of the complete back runs of almost 500 journal titles, from whenever each title began publication to a point 3 or 5 years ago.
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals  
      
    Offers detailed information including editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines for over 5,500 journals.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Journal index. A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities and indexing 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
  • British Humanities Index  
      
    Journal index. Covers a wide range of arts and humanities subjects, from over 370 journals and weekly magazines published in the United Kingdom and other English speaking countries.
  • Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - ) (1 concurrent user allowed)  
      
    Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Updated annually.
  • Literary Index  
      
    Indexes the Gale literary series, allowing you to find which Gale literature series include entries on an author and to search for the title of a literary work to see who wrote it and/or where it's discussed in Gale's literature criticism series.
  • Literature Criticism Online (2007 - )  
      
    Full-text. The 10 individual Thomson Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKris Helbling


Contact Info:
Olin Library, Office # 124
helbling@wustl.edu
314.935.7466
Send Email

Subjects:
Literature in English

 

English MultiSearch

Search multiple databases simultaneously to find the articles you're looking for.
Note: You must also click Go to initiate search on Find it! MultiSearch screen.

 

American MultiSearch

Search multiple databases simultaneously to find the articles you're looking for.
Note: You must also click Go to initiate search on Find it! MultiSearch screen,

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait