American Lit.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (also known as Evans Digital Edition)
Full-text. Contains all content from original collection through 1800 plus newly digitized content through #50,045, published in 1800. - Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Full-text. 'Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950
Full-text. Published letters and diaries from women writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. - Radical Scatters
A searchable database of the manuscript fragments left by Emily Dickinson and now preserved in the Special Collections of Amherst College Library.
Drama
- North American Theatre Online
Full-text. A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. - North American Women's Drama
Full-text. Presently contains 715 plays by 152 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,500 plays.
Request a source
We have many other reference sources in addition to those listed here. Is there one you would like to see added to this page? Click on Comments (below) to make a suggestion.
General reference
- OED

'The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history,and pronunciation of over half a million words. - Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Full-text access to books in the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series. - Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
- New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Full-text. 'Provides a comprehensive reference for those interested in the history of poetry or in any aspect of the technique or criticism of poetry. Provides surveys of national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres; detailed explanations of - Biography Index (1984 - ) (1 concurrent user allowed)
Includes autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Updated monthly. - Book Review Index (1 concurrent user allowed)

A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. - Britannica Online
Full-text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, covering all subjects. - Literary Encyclopedia
Full text. 'The Literary Encyclopedia is an expanding global literary reference work written by over 1800 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides over 4700 profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics.' - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (1 concurrent user allowed)
'An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.' - Oxford Reference Online (Premium Collection) (5 concurrent users allowed)

Contains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to information.
CAMBRIDGE COMPANIONS Online
- Cambridge Companions

We now have full-text access to books in the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series. Note: There are not individual catalog records for each title. Search for your title directly in the Cambridge Companion interface.
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
- New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics

Comprehensive reference for the history of poetry or any aspect of the technique or criticism of poetry.
Subject Guide |
Kris HelblingContact Info:
Olin Library, Office # 124
helbling@wustl.edu
314.935.7466
Send Email
Subjects:
Literature in English
Olin Library, Office # 124
helbling@wustl.edu
314.935.7466
Send Email
Subjects:
Literature in English
Specialized sources
WU has access to many specialized collections that cannot be searched via MultiSearch groups. Links to some of these wonderful resources are below.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
"The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases." - Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)

MEMSO is a searchable database of rare books on medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland. - Medieval Sourcesonline
Full-text. 'Developed from the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series, this is an exciting electronic project which provides the full text of all of the books in the series for students, academics, colleges and universities.' - Middle English Compendium
Full-text. Includes access to the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500), the HyperBibliography of Middle English, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. - International Medieval Bibliography (1967 - ) (3 concurrent users allowed)

Journal index. '...the world's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.' Click Enter databases button, then Go button next to IMB. - Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2005)
Explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. - John Milton Bibliography
"This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799." - English Short Title Catalogue (1473-1800)

Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language -- as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait