Free full-text sources
- American Memory Project at the Library of Congress
American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. - Electronic Poetry Center (SUNY Buffalo)
Searchable online presentations of text, sound, and image related to leading modern poets. - Electronic Text Center (University of Virginia)
Searchable, SGML/XML tagged versions of a variety of texts from English and American literature. Click on the “Collections” button to find tagged texts. Downloadable e-books are also now available.
E-resources
- Cornell's Making of America Project
- U. Michigan's Making of America Project
- Wright American Fiction
This is a collection of 19th-century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. Includes approximately 1,900 texts. - The Vincent Voice Library - Michigan Writers Series
Online audio of poetry, short-stories, novels, and more.
Choice websites
- National Archives (United States)
National Archives has some surprising holdings relevant to literary research and cultural studies. - Archival Research Catalog database (ARC)
"...the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries." - National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
An extremely useful site that provides access to cataloging of manuscript collections in both RLIN and OCLC. Information from more than half a million records can be found through this site. - Voice of the Shuttle: Web Page for Humanities Research
Includes an extensive list of American literature sites. - The Humanities Text Initiative at the University of Michigan
Searchable SGML/XML tagged versions of texts from English and American literature. Click on the “Text Collections” button to access the American Verse Project.
Subject Guide |
Kris HelblingContact Info:
Olin Library, Office # 124
helbling@wustl.edu
314.935.7466
Send Email
Subjects:
Literature in English
Olin Library, Office # 124
helbling@wustl.edu
314.935.7466
Send Email
Subjects:
Literature in English
Recommend a site
Please submit websites you think would be of interest to English Department faculty and students.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait