Writing 1 resources 
RefWorks! 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

English and American Literature  Tags: american_literature amlit literature english united_states_literature irish_literature renaissance medieval 19th_century_british 20th_century 20th_century_transatlantic anglophone_caribbean_literatures british early_modern restoration 18th_century theory  

Resources and services
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Newspapers             Print Page
  

Periodical collections

  • 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers  
      
    'The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection ...totals almost 1 million pages.
  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (1800 - 1900)  
      
    Approximately 1.7 million pages of newspapers from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from various regions throughout the U.S.
  • American Periodical Series Online, 1740-1900  
      
    'This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Published between 1741 and 1900, the more than 1,000 titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several popular magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's, and Ladies' Home Journal.' (from About This Collection on website)
  • Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876  
      
    Full-text. The publisher started from Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.
  • Eighteenth Century Journals II  
      
    Rare British newspapers and periodicals from 1699-1812
  • Harpweek  
      
    Full-text. Contains the full text of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, including full-page images, which contain numerous illustrations and maps. Indexed by subject, illustrations, literature & publishing, advertising, occupation, and literary genre.
  • Internet Library of Early Journals  
      
    Collection of 18th and 19th Century journals. Some journals currently available are Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes and Queries, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society.
  • New York Times (1851 - 2004) Proquest Historical Newspapers  
      
    Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • The Times Digital Archive  
      
    A full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-1985
  • The Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive (1902 - 1990)  
      
    The Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive offers 'the world's premier contemporary literary review in fully searchable image format.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKris Helbling


Contact Info:
Olin Library, Office # 124
helbling@wustl.edu
314.935.7466
Send Email

Subjects:
Literature in English

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait