News & Governmental Response
- CNN Haiti EarthquakeContinuing coverage from Cable News Network.
- Democracy Now!A national, daily, independent, news program.
- Embassy of Haiti
- Haitian TimesOnline edition of the English-language Haitian newsweekly.
- Lexis Nexis AcademicMassive, continuously updated database with of tens of thousands of periodicals including national, regional and international newspapers.
- Ethnic NewswatchFull text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority presses in America, 1990-present
- New York Times
- ReliefWeb Haiti: Earthquakes - Jan 2010On-line gateway to information (documents and maps) on humanitarian emergencies and disasters.
- United Nations Stabilization Mission to Haiti
- United States Embassy in Port Au Prince
- White House BlogPresidential response to the crisis.
- World Health Organization: Haiti
Comments (0)
Maps
- Haiti Earthquake of 12 January 2010US Department of the Interior.
- MAP CENTRE Haiti: Earthquakes - Jan 2010Frequently updated maps compiled by ReliefWeb.
How to Help
- American Red Cross
- Doctors Without Borders
- Haiti Emergency Relief Fund (HERF)
- Haitian Coalition of Somerville(Services residents in Somerville, Cambridge, Medford, Malden, Everett and other surrounding communities. Keeps blog for volunteers and for information about family members in Haiti.)
- Hands Together(Springfield-based Catholic mission to Haiti)
- InterAction Members Respond to the Earthquake in Haiti(70 organizations that are providing help in Haiti)
- MADRE
- Partners in Health
- UMASS HAITI RELIEF
- World Vision
- Yéle Haiti
Background Information
- The 12 Jan. 2010 Haiti Earthquake and the Enriquillo-Plaintain FaultIn response to the recent, tragic earthquake that struck southern Haiti, the Geological Society of America has provided open access (free) papers that address the Caribbean plate and the Enriquillo-Plaintain fault line.
- Academic Search PremierFull-text articles and index to general news periodicals, as well as magazines of political commentary and analysis. A good starting point: articles on almost every topic.
- CIAO Columbia International Affairs OnlineFocus on Haiti’s role and activities in the international community.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (5 vols.)Call Number: F1406 E53 1996 Olin Level 3 Stacks
"A reference set that presents current knowledge of the region in 5,287 alphabetical, signed entries which cover the history, culture, and related persons (nearly 3,000) and places broadly to reflect the experience and understanding of Latin Americans of all classes (the cultural entries, for example, include phenomena ranging from cuisines to religions to sports and popular entertainments)." - Europa World Year Book entry on HaitiEconomic, political, historical, and geographic profile of Haiti
- GeoRefScholarly articles, books, dissertations, maps, and reports relating to geological sciences.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)Articles from scholarly journals provide analyses of current political, economic, and social issues for Latin American countires
- Historical AbstractsCitations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present.
- Jubilee USA: Haiti Resources & Background
- PAIS InternationalPublic and social policy literature in political science, international relations, social sciences. Articles, government documents, reports, 1915-.
- UNICEF Haiti
- US Department of State Background Note: Haiti
- World Development IndicatorsWorld Bank “data” database. Comprehensive historical and current data by country – national accounts, environment, social indicators, trade statistics.
- World Factbook Haiti


Loading...
