Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Education  Tags: education creative creativity tests_and_measurements reading children  

Library resources for the study of education.
Last update: Aug 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/Education  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Select Education Collections             Print Page
  
 

Olin Library

Library Hours

314-935-5420

 May 8 - August 26
Monday/Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
7:30am - 10:00pm
7:30am - 6:00pm
9:00am - 5:00pm
CLOSED
 

Center for the Humanities

Library Hours

9am - 4:30pm, Monday - Friday



Library Location

The Center for the Humanities Library is located on the university's hilltop campus, in the southeast tower of Old McMillan Hall. See map



Contact Info

Center for the Humanities
Washington University
Campus Box 1071
Old McMillan Hall, Room S101 (southeast tower)
St. Louis, MO 63130
Phone: (314) 935-5576
cenhum@artsci.wustl.edu

 
 

University Libraries' Collections

The Henrietta Hochschild Collection of Children's Books

The Henrietta Hochschild Collection of Children's Books, located in Olin Library Special Collections, numbers over 1,000 books, magazines, and ephemeral pieces documenting the evolution of children's literature.  Among the items in the collection are a Buck Rogers illustrated pop-up edition, several works by the 19th-century creator of movable picture books, Lothar Meggendorfer, and a stunning advance copy of Maxfield Parrish's Knave of Hearts, published in 1925.  Learn more.

Little Black Sambo Collection

The Story of Little Black Sambo was written and illustrated by Helen Bannerman, a Scotswoman living in colonial India. Washington University Libraries' Department of Special Collections acquired a wide-ranging collection of nearly 300 primary sources that document this text, its publishing and illustration history, and its treatment in the mass market.  It is the story of a little Indian boy who goes out into the world with a new suit of clothes. After losing everything to ravenous tigers, he gets his belongings back when the tigers, in a fit of jealousy, chase themselves around a tree until they melt into butter.

With its racially charged title and succession of editions reset in Africa or the American South, the work has been controversial since it first appeared in 1899. Over the course of its 100-year history, discussion of the work has stimulated a more enlightened development and re-evaluation of children's books featuring non-white protagonists. Learn more.

Gellman's Children's Literature Collection

Children's literature, purchased in honor of Vivian Gellman. View a list of titles in the collection: Gellman, Vivian - Honoree. Located in Olin Library, Level A, shelved by call number, which are mostly in the PZ's.

Curriculum Collection

The Curriculum Collection is housed in the general collection of Olin Library. The collection supports the teaching and research needs of faculty, graduates and undergraduates in the Department of Education. The collection contains a variety of textbooks in history, social studies, language arts, reading, algebra, biology and chemistry, to name a few, that are used in elementary and secondary curriculums. There are also various teacher's guides and manuals, learning kits and manipulative materials, and a wide range of children's literature. To locate materials within the Curriculum Collection, use the phrase "curriculum collection" as part of your search in the online catalog.

 

 

 

Center For the Humanities Collections

Center for the Humanities

Search the Collection

 Toy Collection

We at the Center for the Humanities think that students should not only be exposed to books and magazines but also to objects of material culture. To that end, and in support of our children's studies minor, we maintain a collection of toys that are sometimes put on display. We have a number of board games and dolls, including controversial ones like Ghettopoly and Anti-Monopoly as well as disturbing racist and sexist dolls. Besides these, many of our dolls have social or nostalgic significance, such as Wonder Woman Barbie or the Happy Family: Grandma Doll. Vintage toys compose a large portion of our collection as well, including antique science sets and robots. Toys that are put on display (as well as any single piece of the toy collection) can be viewed during the regular working hours of the Center.

Children's Literature Collection

 

Research Guide

Profile ImageCheryl Holland


Contact Info:
314.935.6626, 314.935.5410
Send Email

Subjects:
Education

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait