Print Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century (1992-1993)

- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (2005)

- A New Handbook of Literary Terms (2007)

- Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies (1998)

- Twentieth-Century European Culture Theorists, 1st Series (2001)

- Twentieth-Century European Cultural Theorists, 2nd Series (2004)

- World Authors, 2000-2005 (2007)

Online Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- The Literary Encyclopedia
Scholarly-owned reference encyclopedia which provides 4700 profiles of authors, works and topics (literary, philosophical, historical). - Oxford Reference Online -- Literature
Access to Oxford's entire set of literature reference titles, including the Oxford Companion series (e.g. the New Oxford Companion to Literature in French, the Companion to German Literature). - Encyclopedia of Semiotics (Oxford)
A comprehensive reference guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies. Over 300 entries. - The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English
Coverage of English-language writers from around the world as well as entries on literary movements and periodicals. - The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Extensive coverage of traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history. Over 1,200 entries. - The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
Over 3,000 entries. - The Oxford Companion to German Literature
Covers authors and works up to the mid–1990s. - The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature
Over 2,400 entries. - The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation
Examines historical, theoretical, and practical issues of translation with entries on individual texts, writers, genres, and national literatures. Over 170 substantial entries. - The Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'Alembert (U. of Michigan Library)
Provides translations of articles from the Encyclopédie edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d'Alembert in the 18th century. - ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language

Texts range from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 16th to the 19th century. - New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics Full-text. 'Provides a comprehensive reference for those interested in the history of poetry or in any aspect of the technique or criticism of poetry. Provides surveys of national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres; detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and modern, Western and Eastern.' (from ebook homepage)
Subject Librarian |
Brian VetrubaOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)
Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email
Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)
Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email
Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait









Loading content... please wait