DatabasesFind Book Reviews
Cambridge Companions E-Books
CompLit AssociationsScholarly WebsitesWU Comp Lit Program 
Library News for Comparative LiteratureLibrary News for German Studies
CL 115 Freshman Sem.: The Acceleration of the World: Speeding and the Arts (Spring 2009) CL 211 World Literature (Fall 2009) CL 376 Monsters of the Middle Ages (Spring 2009) CL 494: Truth or Fiction (Fall 2008) CL 552 Method of Lit Study : Lit Trans II (Spring 2009) GER 529 Split Screens: Weimar Cinema (Fall 2009) GER 529/CL 511 Walter Benjamin (Fall 2008) 
Digitized Periodical CollectionsOnline JournalsPrint JournalsTable of Contents for Journals
BibliographiesEncyclopedias & HandbooksGeneral Books on CompLitLanguage Dictionaries
Importing Chinese in RefWorksRefWorks Guide RefWorks LOGIN 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Comparative Literature  Tags: criticism literary literature theory comparative_literature comparative culture translation_studies  

Research Guide to support Comparative Literature at Washington University.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/complit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  

Quick Links

 

Find It! Comp Lit

Click on GO to initiate search on Find it! MultiSearch screen.

 

Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    Coverage, 1920s-present. Produced by the Modern Language Association, a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
  • Article First  
      
    Coverage, 1990-present. Index of nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Updated daily.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science)  
      
    Coverage, 1980-present. Multidisciplinary index of 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals plus relevant items from 6,800 major science and social science journals.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (OCLC)  
      
    Coverage, 1980-present. Same database as above. Please use this version ONLY if you require data from 1980-1987.
  • Biography Index  
      
    Index to autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.
  • Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics  
      
    The Literature and Classics series offers 'over 1,500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres.
  • Columbia Granger's World of Poetry Database  
      
    250,000 full text poems as well as 450,000 poem citations. And this number continues to grow. Besides English, includes poems in 14 other languages.
  • Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)  
      
    Dissertations and theses for all academic disciplines, many with viewable 24-page previews. Request via ILLiad.
  • The Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945  
      
    Focusing on women's history and feminist movements, provides access to more than 4,700 publications from Europe, the US, the UK, and other nations, dating from 1543-1945. Includes periodicals and monographs in 15 languages.
  • IBR Online  
      
    Coverage, 1985-present. International Bibliography of Book Reviews, contains over 990,000 entries.
  • IBZ Online  
      
    Coverage, 1983-present. International Bibliography of Periodical Literature. An interdisciplinary index of periodical literature for the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Contains the back runs of about 500 journals, excluding the most recent issues (3-5 years).
  • LexisNexis  
      
    Full-text news, business, and legal and information including articles from major news periodicals worldwide. Can limit to articles in one language. Only searching--no browsing of periodicals
  • National Library Catalogues Worldwide  
      
    Links to national library catalogs around the world compiled by the Univ. of Queensland (Australia).
  • PapersFirst  
      
    Coverage, 1993-present. Over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library. Updated monthly.
  • Press Display  
    Recent and current issues of 1000 newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages, including 48 newspapers in German and 7 in Swedish. Page view images, audio files, and more. 3 concurrent users so please sign out when finished.
  • Project MUSE  
      
    Full-text. Access to over 300 journals in the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBrian Vetruba


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)

Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email

Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait