DatabasesFind Book ReviewsFind Current & Historical NewsTable of Contents for Journals 
BooksFilms
German Film LinksGermanic Studies Links/ListservsLinks to full text German literature collectionsWU Germanic Dept. calendar WU Germanic Lang & Lit Dept. 
Library News for Comparative LiteratureLibrary News for German Studies
Comparative Literature For New Grad Students GER 340: German Literature and the Modern Era (Fall 2009) GER 408 German as a Lang. of Business (Fall 2009) GER 4102 Buddenbrooks (Fall 2009) GER 450 Methodology & Bibliography (Fall 2009) GER 528 German Jewish Literature (Fall 2009) GER 529 Split Screens (Fall 2009) GER314A/HUM313A Legend of King Arthur (Fall 2009) GUIDES FOR PAST COURSESLearning German Learning Swedish Medieval & Early Modern Studies Second Language Acquisition Translation Studies 
Digitized Periodicals CollectionsOnline JournalsPrint JournalsTable of Contents for Journals
BibliographiesBiographical ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopedias & Handbooks
Importing from BDSL to RefWorksRefworks Guide RefWorks LOGIN 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Germanic Studies  Tags: germanic_studies germanic german_studies literature culture deutsch deutsche_literatur  

Research Guide to support Germanic Studies at Washington University
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/germanic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Print Dictionaries

A selected list of German dictionaries in Olin Library. Use the links further below to search for dictionaries in the Catalog.

 

German Online Dictionaries

  • Adelung Wörterbuch  
      
    All four volumes of this 1811 dictionary are available.
  • Canoonet Dictionaries  
      
    German and bilingual dictionaries (German to French, Spanish, Italian, Polish). Also includes German spelling dictionary.
  • Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jakob und Wilhelm Grimm  
      
    Searchable version of the 32-volume DWB (1838-1960), the German equivalent of the OED.
  • dict.cc  
      
    Searchable online English-German and German-English dictionary.
  • DUDEN-Suche  
      
    Collection of DUDEN dictionaries, including Deutsches Universalwörterbuch, DUDEN - die deutsche Rechtschreibung
  • FreeDic  
      
    Searchable English-German and German-English dictionary.
  • LEO English-German Dictionary  
      
    Searchable English-German and German-English dictionary. Claims over 400,000 entries.
  • Middle High German dictionaries  
      
    The two standard dictionaries of MHG: Mittelhochdeutsches Wörterbuch by Benecke, Müller, and Zarncke (BMZ); and Das Mittelhochdeutsche Handwörterbuch by Lexer (Lexer).
  • Oxford Language Dictionaries Online  
      
    Access to six bilingual dictionaries, including English-German-English.
  • Das Wörterbuch-Netz  
      
    Portal to eleven online German dictionaries published by Uni Trier. Allows cross-searching of all dictionaries at once. Includes Deutsches Wörterbuch (Grimm), Goethe Wörterbuch, MHG dictionaries, and several Mundart dictionaries.

Swedish Online Dictionaries

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBrian Vetruba


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)

Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email

Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait