Print Biographical References Works
Metzler Autoren Lexikon : deutschsprachige Dichter und Schriftsteller vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart. - Bernd Lutz und Benedikt Jessing, hrsg. 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 3476020134
Deutsche biographische Enzyklopädie (DBE) - / herausgegeben von Walther Killy ; unter Mitarbeit von Dietrich von Engelhardt ... [et al.]. 1995-2003.
ISBN/ISSN: 359823161X- Search for more biographical reference
Search WU for more biographical reference. Use "biography" and the group (i.e. "women" "minority")
Online Biographical Reference Works
- Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) Biographies of well-known individuals who died before 19000 in the areas of art, culture, science and medicine, law, and politics. Search includes NDB as well.
- AEIOU
The Annotierbare Elektronische Interaktive Österreichische Universal-Information System. Provides culturally relevant information about Austria, including Austrian literary figures. - Britannica Online
- Brockhaus Konversationslexikon - 14. Auflage (1894-1896)
16 vols. Late 19th-century edition. - The Literary Encyclopedia
Scholarly-owned reference encyclopedia which provides 4700 profiles of authors, works and topics (literary, philosophical, historical). - Meyers Konversationslexikon - 4. Auflage (1885-1892)
19 vols. Major competitor to the Brockhaus encyclopedia until their merger in 1986. - Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) Only 22 vols of the NDB (Aachen - Schinkel) currently available online. Biographies of well-known individuals who died before 19000 in the areas of art, culture, science and medicine, law, and politics. Search interface includes ADB.
- Oxford Companion to German Literature
Covers authors and their major works as well as historical, intellectual and cultural periods of German-speaking countries from 8th century to mid-1990s. - Zedlers Grosses Universal-Lexikon
Major 18th century German encyclopedia. - OTHER BIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCE WORKS
Subject Librarian |
Brian VetrubaOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)
Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email
Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)
Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email
Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait









Loading content... please wait