Library What's New

Loading RSS Feed...
Biographical Reference
The major national biographies can be excellent sources for biographies of major, in most cases dead, philosophers.
- United Kingdom: Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press, 2004) Available online
- United States: American National Biography (Oxford University Press, 2000) Available online
- Belgium: Biographie nationale. (Brussells: Buggenhoudt 1866–1986) 44 v. West Campus Storage
- France: Dictionnaire de biographie française (Paris: Letouzey et Ané, 1933–2001) 19 vols. Olin Stacks CT143 D5
- Germany: www.deutsche-biographie.de An online version of both the Allgemeine deutsche Biographie [ADB] (Berlin: Duncker & Humboldt, 1875–1912) 56 vols. and Neue deutsche Biographie [NDB] (Berlin: Duncker & Humboldt, 1953–)
- Italy: Dizionario biografico degli Italiani (Rome: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, 1960–) 44 cols. (to M) Olin Stacks DG463 .D5
- Netherlands: Nieuw Nederlandsch biografisch woordenboek (Leiden: Sijthoff, 1911–1937) 10 vols. Olin Stacks CT1143 .M
See also the Biography and genealogy master index (Gale) database which indexes a wide range of biographical publications.
- Biographical dictionary of twentieth-century philosophers / edited by Stuart Brown, Diané Collinson & Robert Wilkinson.
(Routledge, 1996) Olin Stacks B104 B56 1996 - Dictionnaire des philosophes
2nd edition. (Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, 1993) 2 Vols. Olin Ref. B42 D484 1983 - Metzler Philosophen Lexikon : von den Vorsokratikern bis zu den neuen Philosophen / edited by Bernd Lutz
2nd edition. (Stuttgart: Metzler, 1995) Olin Stacks B72 M43 1995 - Women philosophers : a bio-critical source book / Ethel M. Kersey
(New York: Greenwood, 1989) Olin Stacks B105 W6 K47 1989
Specialized Reference Works
To find more in-depth information about a particular area of philosophy, there are a number of more specialized reference works that are worth consulting. Many of these available in the following series:
- Blackwell Companions to Philosophy
- Blackwell Philosophy Guides
- Historical dictionaries of religions, philosophies, and movements (Scarecrow Press)
- Philosophy A to Z (Edinburgh University Press)
The following titles are also useful sources of in-depth information on particular subfields of philosophy
Aesthetics
- Encyclopedia of aesthetics / Michael Kelly, editor-in-chief (Oxford University Press, 1998) 4 vols. Olin Reference, Art Reference BH56 .E53 1998 Available Online
- Oxford Art Online A database of art terminology, encyclopedic entries on artists and works of art, and images.
- The Oxford handbook of aesthetics / edited by Jerrold Levinson. (Oxford University Press, 2003) Olin Stacks
BH56 .O94 2003
Ancient Philosophy
- Encyclopedia of classical philosophy / edited by Donald J. Zeyl (Greenwood Press, 1997) Olin Reference B163 E53
- Greek thought : a guide to classical knowledge / edited by Jacques Brunschwig and Geoffrey E.R. Lloyd (Harvard University Press, 2000) Olin Stacks DF78 .S2213 2000
- Oxford Classical Dictionary / edited by Simon Hornblower and Anthony Spawforth. 3rd edition. (Oxford University Press, 2003.) Olin Reference DE5 .O9 2003 Online Access
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae. Online digital library of Greek literature from Homer to the Fall of the Byzantine Empire.
"Continental Philosophy"
- Dictionary of continental philosophy / edited by John Protevi (Yale University Press, 2006) Olin Reference B41 D46
- The Columbia history of twentieth-century French thought / edited by Lawrence D. Kritzman (Columbia University Press, 2006) Olin Stacks DC33.7 .C575 2006
- The Oxford handbook of continental philosophy / edited by Brian Leiter and Michael Rosen (Oxford University Press, 2007) Olin Stacks B803 .O94 2007
Ethics
- Encyclopedia of applied ethics / Ruth Chadwick, editor-in-chief. (Academic Press, 1998) 4 vols. Olin Reference BJ63 E44 1998
- Encyclopedia of bioethics / edited by Stephen G. Post. 3rd edition. (MacMillan Reference, 2004). 5 vols. Olin Reference BJ63 E44 1998
- Encyclopedia of ethics / Lawrence C. Becker and Charlotte B. Becker, editors. 2nd edition. (Routledge, 2001) 3 vols. Olin Reference
- Oxford handbook of practical ethics / edited by Hugh LaFollette. (Oxford University Press, 2003) BJ1031 .O94 2003
Metaphysics & Epistemology
- Handbook of metaphysics and ontology / editors, Hans Burkhardt, Barry Smith (Philosophia Verlag, 1991) Olin Stacks BD111 H225 1991
- The Oxford handbook of epistemology / edited by Paul K. Moser. (Oxford University Press, 2002) Olin Stacks BD161 .O96 2002
- The Oxford handbook of metaphysics / edited by Michael J. Loux and Dean W. Zimmerman. (Oxford University Press, 2003) Olin Stacks BD111 .O94 2003
Philosophy of Language & Logic
- Concise Encyclopedia of philosophy of language / edited by Peter V. Lamargue (Pergamon, 1997) Olin Stacks P106 C5946 1997
- Dictionary of logical terms and symbols / Carol Horn Greenstein (Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1978) Olin Stacks QA9 G698
- Dictionary of philosophical logic / Roy T. Cook (Edinburg University Press, 2009) Olin Reference BC 9 C66 2009
- Handbook of logic and language / edited by Johan van Benthem & Alice ter Meulen (Elsevier/MIT Press, 1997) Olin Stacks QA76.9 N38 H36 1997
- Key thinkers in linguistics and the philosophy of language / edited by Siobhan Chapman and Christopher Routledge. (Oxford University Press, 2005) Olin Stacks P107 .K49 2005
- Logic from A to Z / Michael Detlefsen, David Charles McCarty & John B. Bacon (Routledge, 1999) Olin Stacks QA9 .D47 1999
Philosophy of Mind
- Dictionary of cognitive science / Olivier Houdé, editor (Psychology Press, 2004) Olin Reference BF311 .V56713 2004
- Dictionary of the Philosophy of Mind / edited by Chris Eliasmith online.
- Encyclopedia of cognitive science / Lynn Nadel, editor in chief. (Nature Publishing Group, 2003) 4 vols. Olin Reference BF311 .E53 2003
- MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences / Robert A. Wilson & Frank C. Keil, editors. (MIT Press, 1999) Olin Reference BF311 .M556 1999 A
- The Oxford companion to the mind / edited by Richard L. Gregory. 2nd edition (Oxford University Press, 2004) Olin Reference BF31 .O94 2004 Available online
Political Philosophy
- The Blackwell dictionary of twentieth-century social thought / edited by William Outhwaite & Tom Bottomore (Blackwell, 1993) Olin Stacks H41 B53 1993
- The philosophy of law : an encyclopedia / editor, Christopher Berry Gray (Garland, 1999) 2 vols. Law Library K204 .P49 1999
- The Routledge dictionary of twentieth century political thinkers / edited by Robert Benewick & Philip Green. 2nd edition. (Routledge, 1997) Olin JA83 R725 1997
Subject Librarian |
Colin McCaffreyOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Olin Library 122
Reference Department
(314) 935-5492
Send Email
Subjects:
Philosophy, Classics, Linguistics, PNP
![]() |
Contact Info:
Olin Library 122
Reference Department
(314) 935-5492
Send Email
Subjects:
Philosophy, Classics, Linguistics, PNP
Del.icio.us Feed
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait