Digital ArchivesDigital CollectionsDigital Collections at Wash. U.Digital LibrariesDigital/Electronic Scholarly Editions
AcademHackDan Cohen's Digital Humanities BlogDigital History HacksDigital Humanities ScholarshipHASTACHorothesiaHumLab - video seminarsLorcan Dempsey's weblogMaryland Institute for Technology in the HumanitiesMatthew G. KirschenbaumPlanet Code4LibResearch Forward
This is the "Home" page of the "Digital Humanities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

Digital Humanities   Tags: digital_collections, digital_humanities, humanities, metadata  

Digital Humanities is a multi-disciplinary field that combines traditional study in the humanities with the resources of information technology. This cross-section of scholarly work and technology creates new opportunities for research and publishing.
Last Updated: May 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/digihumanities Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital Humanities

 

Terms

The terms, digital library, digital archive, digital collection, and digital/electronic scholarly editions are sometimes used interchangebly in discussing Digital Humanities.  However, there are differences between the terms and not recognizing that can lead to misunderstandings.

Digital Library: A collection of digital resources.

Digital Archive: Similar to a digital library, but usually focused on a particular area.

Digital Collection: A cohesive resource that belongs to either a digital library or archive.

Digital/Electronic Scholarly Editions: A digitally published text that focuses on a specific subject and is created by one or more scholars with in-depth subject knowledge.  It is the electronic equivalent to a critical edition.

Psychology, PNP, & Linguistics Librarian

Profile Image
Melissa Vetter
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Olin Library Help Desk, 1st Fl.
p. 314.935.5079
e. mvetter@wustl.edu

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Brian Vetruba
Chat requires JavaScript.
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Olin Library, Level 1; Rm. 124
314.935.4824
email: bvetruba@wustl.edu

Office hrs. for Spring 2014--Wednesdays, 11am-12pm in Ridgley 319 (German Dept. lounge) and by appt.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip