ACLSARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)Cambridge Collections OnlineDigitale Bibliothek Deutscher KlassikerHathiTrust WindowOlms Online Reprints
This is the "eBook Collections at WUSTL" page of the "eBooks/Online Book Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

eBooks/Online Book Collections  

A guide on how to find and use ebooks in your research including instructions on EBL and other ebook platforms. How to find a variety of ebooks and how to read them on your computer and/or download them to an ereading device.
Last Updated: May 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

eBook Collections at WUSTL Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FAQs about ebooks at WUSTL

ebook image  

  • What are ebooks? ebooks are electronic versions of print books. 
  • Does the Library have ebooks? WUSTL Libraries has thousands of ebooks covering a variety of fields and topics. 
  • How do I find the Library's ebooks? ebook titles can be searched in both the Classic and Discovery Catalogs and will link to either the individual ebook title or the online database which contains the ebook.  We subcribe to many databases which contain ebook collections and own several online ebook collections. ebooks can be searched in these individual online databases as well.
  • Do I need to set-up an account? Some of our ebook collections may require a user to establish an account, but there are no charges for these materials. 
  • Why can't I read the ebook, it says "in use." Due to our licensing agreements with publishers, some ebooks in our collections are limited to one user at a time. If you need more assistance with an ebook, please Ask Us.
  • Can I download ebooks from a WUSTL collection to my ereader? No, most of the ebook content from WUSTL Library collections CANNOT be downloaded to an ereader at this time.  This is due to proprietary publisher formats and DRM (digital rights management). Some of the freely available ebooks online can be downloaded to ereaders.
  • Can I check out an ereader? At this time, we do not have ereaders available for check out.
 

Finding ebooks in the Classic Catalog

In the Classic Catalog:

1. Click Advanced Search

2. Select Material Type= Electronic Resource

3. Results list displays electronic/online books within library subcription databases as well as individual online books. 

4. Click into individual record to find the individual link to the item, which displays: WUSTL full text link.

Below is a sample online book from the Classic Catalog with the Electronic Resource Icon and the WUSTL full text link.

 

Finding EBooks in the Discovery Catalog

ebook discovery catalog icon

In the Discovery Catalog:

1. Click Specific

2. Select Format=Electronic Resource

3. Results list displays electronic/online books within library subcription databases as well as individual online books.

4. Click into individual record to find the individual link to the item, which displays: URL: Click here to access a downloadable ebook.

Below is a sample online book from the Discovery Catalog with the Electronic Resource Icon and the WUSTL full text link.

discovery ebook

 

Reference Help Desk

Profile ImageOlin Reference Help Desk


Contact Info:
(314) 935-5410
Hours
Send Email

Subjects:
reference

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip