Related Readings
This is the "Home" page of the "Japan 445 Japanese Fiction: Images of Demonic Women" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

Japan 445 Japanese Fiction: Images of Demonic Women  

Last Updated: May 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/japan445 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Japanese Collection News

  • JapanKnowledge received a major update on April 1, 2014, including migration to a new URL. While links on the main library website are being updated, please use links on this research guide to access the databases, particularly for off-campus access. As part of the update, JapanKnowledge's search interface is now available in English in addition to Japanese. If you need any help with the database's new interface, please contact Ryuta any time. (** Please note that we share one simultaneous access to the Kokushi daijiten and Nihon rekishi chimei taikei databases with 10 other universities. If your login request bounces back, please check back at a later time).

  • Celebrating Valentine's Day, OCLC (the providor of WorldCat and OCLC FirstSearch) identified Top 10 Love Stories in Libraries. I looked for Top Japanese Love Stories in Libraries using WorldCat's experimental feature called WorldCat Genres. The feature is very limited when it comes to Japanese-language titles, and it does not catch classical works (like "Genji monogatari") and stories in bungaku zenshu-type publications, so the following is a very imcomplete list (but looks to me somewhat reasonable). East Asian Library has several of those titles. (Feb. 14, 2014)

Incomplete List of Top Japanese Love Stories in Libraries

- 『ノルウェイの森』 村上春樹 (Noruwei no mori by Murakami Haruki)
- 『国境の南, 太陽の西』 村上春樹 (Kokkyō no minami, taiyō no nishi by Murakami Haruki)
- 『野菊の墓』 伊藤左千夫 (Nogiku no haka by Itō Sachio)
- 『浮雲』 林芙美子 (Ukigumo by Hayashi Fumiko)
- 『痴人の愛』 谷崎潤一郎 (Chijin no ai by Tanizaki Jun'ichirō)
  • The National Diet Library (国立国会図書館) of Japan renamed its digital collections portal as National Diet Library Digital Collections (国立国会図書館デジタルコレクション). While many items are limited to in-NDL use only due to copyright ristrictions, parts of the collection are openly available and accessible via the Internet. Web-accessible contents include digitized public domain books (図書), rare and old books (古典籍資料), doctoral dissertations submitted to Japanese universities (博士論文), Kanpo (官報, or the Japanese government official gazette) from 1883 to 1952 and electronic editions of governmental and institutional reports, statistics and yearbooks (available as part of the 電子書籍・電子雑誌 collection). (Jan. 21, 2014)
     

    Trouble Shooting

    Accessing databases and ejournals off-campus:

    https://libproxy.wustl.edu/login

    WUSTL Key troubles?

    http://library/libhelp/passwordhelp.html

     

    Welcome

    Welcome to the Course Guide for Professor Copeland's course Demonic Women. Please contact Azusa Tanaka, Japanese Librarian, if you need any research help for the course, or for general research assistance in Japan studies and related areas.

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Tony H. Chang
    Contact Info
    East Asian Library
    January Hall, 2nd Floor
    Phone: (314) 935-4816
    Fax: (314) 935-4045
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip