Banner Image

A Guide to Jewish and Near Eastern Studies

Home

Introduction

Here you will find the most important Jewish Studies electronic resources of the WU libraries. Please contact me for assistance with your research.

 

Ten Potraits of Jews of the Twentieth Century (1980) Andy Warhol (1928 - 1987)

                                        Library News for Jewish Studies                                                All Research Guides

                                                     

 

Find Articles

eJournals

If you are office campus use the proxy server to access library ejournals.

    

Find Jewish Studies eJournals

e-Journals in Hebrew

All WU eJournals

e-Journal Collections

Jewish Studies Journal Indexes, Encyclopedias, Yearbooks


Click
the GO button below to begin a search in the subject Jewish Studies.

Databases

All WU Databases

To view ALL of the journal databases & ecollections click on this link.

Find Database

 

 

 

Newspapers, Current & Retro

Press Display

Press Display, 1400 newspapers in 44 languages (including Yiddish and Hebrew) from 90 countries.

  • exact digital images of the complete paper including ads
  • 50 day average backfile
  • translations and audio for many articles
  • RSS feeds

Featured Newspaper

Find Books

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books in the WU catalog.


Advanced Search


Search for and borrow books in WorldCat (catalog of U.S. & international academic libraries). 

Selected New Books

eBooks and eTexts

eBooks: Individual Titles and Collections

eTexts

Reference

eReference Books

eBooks & Digital Collections


Websites

History

Listen Up

 

Audio and video streams, programs from the archive vaults of Center for Jewish History

 

 

Holocaust

"Yid Du Partizaner"

Song by Shmerke Kaczerginsky

Fun di getos tsife vent
In di velder fraye
Anshtot keytn af di hent
Kh'halt a biks a nayem
Af di oyfgabes mayn fraynt
Kusht mikh haldz un aktsl
Mitn biks bin ikh fun haynt
Fest tsunoyfgevaksn.

From these ghetto prison walls
Into the free forests
Instead of chains on my hands
I carry a new rifle
On missions, my friend kisses me
Throat and shoulder
From this day on
I am one with my weapon
.

Veynik zenen mir in tsol,
Drayster vi milyonen
Raysen mir af barg un tol
Brikn ershalonen.
Dem fashist fartsitert vert,
Veyst nit vu fun vanen
Shturmen yidn fun unter der erd,
Yidn partizanen.

We are few in number
But we count for millions.
On hills and in valleys
We explode bridges, brigades.
The fascist will tremble
Won't know from where
Jews, partisans,
Storm up from under the earth.

S'vot nekome hot a zin
Ven mit blut farshraybst im
Far dem heylikn bagin
Firn mir di shtraytn
Neyn! mir veln nit keynmol zayn
Di letste mohikaner
Brengt di nakht der zunenshayn
Der yid, der partizaner.

A word like "revenge" counts for something
When you're illing to write it in blood.
We strike before
Sacred day's dawn.
And no! We will not be the last,
The Last of the Mohicans
We bring sunshine to the night,
Jews partisans!

Israel and Palestine

Historical Photographs of the Land of Israel

 A collection of the Younes & Soraya Nazarian Library, University of Haifa

Digitized images made by amatuer and professional photographers.

 Capital in Caesarea (12th Century)

 

Holy Land Maps

Eran Laor Cartographic Collection (JNUL)

1100 rare and original digitized maps (15th- 21st) centuries

 

Ptolemy, 2nd cent.
Quarta Asiae taubla continet Cyprum & Syrium & Iudea & Vtraq. Arabia petream & deserta ac Mesopotamia & Babilonia
[Ulm], [1482].
Trapez. 373x495x573 mm

The Arts in Israel

Dateline Israel: New Photography and Video Art, an exhibit organized by the Jewish Museum, New York, NY. Online exhibit of some of the show.

ME: Prints and Photos

M.E. in Early Prints & Photographs 8800 items online. Lithographs, engravings, salt prints and complete photo albums of the 18th and 19th centuries.

Image: Sphinx at Gizeh. Digital ID: 82626. NY Public Library Digital Collection


Jewish Literatures

Jewish Review of Books

Jewish Music

Jewish American Music

The Milken Archives

Each program illuminates a major theme reflected in American Jewish music: biblical epics set to music by Kurt Weill and other 20th century masters; Jewish legends in tone poems, film scores and operas; sacred masterpieces and the great cantorial tradition; the joy of klezmer, Yiddish songbooksand other popular musical genres.

Loading
Blank

Language

Chava Alberstein

Alberstein sings from her Yiddish repetoire.

Loading
Blank

Mesopotamia & Ancient Near East

Jerusalem: Ancient Maps

The The Eran Laor Cartographic Collection at Hebrew University Jerusalem

Religion

Talmud - Order & Tractates

Sephardim

Sephardic Culture

Course Guides

A Nation Apart? Jewish Identify in an Age of Nationalism

History of the Jews in Islamic Lands

Judaism and Islam in Comparative Perspective

The Holocaust: History and Memory

In the Beginning: Creation Myths of the Biblical World

The Graphic Novel and the Jewish Experience

Kings, Priests, Prophets, and Rabbis: The Jews in the Ancient World

Welcome, Students in Biblical Hebrew Poetry

This guide contains sources to to compliment your class sessions. The books and journal article databases give you good starting points for your 10-page paper. I am happy to assist you with any aspect of your research,especially with use of the journal databases, which can be intially confusing but yield a wealth of sources once mastered. I look forward to working with you.

Deborah Katz, Jewish Studies Librarian

 Song of Songs V, study (Le cantique des Cantiques V) (1954 - 1966)  Marc Chagall,  Image and original data provided by Réunion des Musées Nationaux / Art Resource, N.Y. ArtStor:146392

 

 

 

            

                                                                             

    

 

 

Topics in Biblical Hebrew Texts: Biblical Poetry

Becoming "Modern" : Emancipation, Antisemitism, and Nationalism in Modern Jewish History

Introduction to the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament)

Home

Welcome, Students in Biblical Hebrew Poetry

This guide contains sources to to compliment your class sessions. The books and journal article databases give you good starting points for your 10-page paper. I am happy to assist you with any aspect of your research,especially with use of the journal databases, which can be intially confusing but yield a wealth of sources once mastered. I look forward to working with you.

Deborah Katz, Jewish Studies Librarian

 Song of Songs V, study (Le cantique des Cantiques V) (1954 - 1966)  Marc Chagall,  Image and original data provided by Réunion des Musées Nationaux / Art Resource, N.Y. ArtStor:146392

 

 

 

            

                                                                             

    

 

 

Find Images

ArtStor

Zotero

What is Zotero?

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. 

Take a look at what you can do with Zotero:

  1. Create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc.
  2. Import citations from databases and the WU Catalog
  3. Add searchable notes and tags to citations; attach pdf's if desired
  4. Quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA...)
  5. Automatically manage in-text citations in Microsoft Word or LibreOffice/OpenOffice
  6. Easily share references with others

Getting Started with Zotero

  1. Download and install Zotero (Options for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari)
  2. Register for a free zotero.org account (enables syncing and sharing).
  3. Sync your Zotero account with Zotero for Firefox or Zotero Standalone.
    1. Within Zotero click on Actions (gear icon), then select Preferences.
    2. Select the Sync tab and enter your Zotero account username and password.
  4. Add citations to Zotero
  5. Create bibliographies
  6. Organize your research
  7. Share and collaborate