Research Guides: A Guide to Mathematics Resources: Journals

Read The Latest Journals Online

Guide to Using BrowZine
BrowZine lets you browse, read, save, and monitor scholarly journals in your subject areas on your devices.

Journal Tables of Contents

JournalTOCs - Mathematics
Another way to keep up-to-date is to subscribe to journal updates from JournalTOCs, a table of contents indexing service.

Frequently-Used Math Journals

These journals have been ordered based on comparisons of their Journal Impact Factor (JIF), Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and Scientific Journal Ranking (SJR).

Find a Specific Journal

Classic Catalog Journal Title Search
Search for print and electronic journal holdings by title or ISSN; add ONLINE to search for electronic journals, for example, Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences Online.
eJournal Title Search
Search for just electronic journal holdings by title or ISSN.
Can also search for eBooks by title or ISBN and streaming videos by title.
Citation Linker
Use a citation to find a journal article. Must know at least one of the following: journal title, ISSN, or DOI of the article.

Browse Journals by Category

Search for Journals

Use these resources to locate journals - WashU may or may not have an active subscription/access.

To find if we have a subscription, use the Classic Catalog and eJournal Title Search above to check our holdings.

If we do not have a journal, you can place an article request via Interlibrary Loan or contact the librarian to explore subscription options.

Abbreviations of Name of Serials Used in Mathematical Reviews
Up-to-date list from the American Mathematical Society.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information on over 300,000 serials (journals and magazines), including almost 55,000 ceased titles. Covers academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

EuDML: European Digital Math Library
Enduring digital collection of European mathematics literature. Over 250,000 articles have been indexed and made available in full text.
Project Euclid
Platform for independent and small publishers of mathematics and statistics that hosts over 100 publications from around the world. Created by Cornell University Library in 2000 and now managed by Duke University Press.
American Mathermatical Society (AMS) Journals
Journals published by the American Mathematical Society. Search in the Classic Catalog or eJournal Title Search to check WashU's holdings.
Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Journals
Journals published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Search in the Classic Catalog or eJournal Title Search to check WashU's holdings.
Master Journal List for Web of Science
Search for all journal indexed in the database Web of Science.
Numérisation de Documents Anciens Mathématiques [NUMDAM]
French digital mathematics library. Includes full text of journal articles, seminar and conference proceedings, books and monographs, doctoral theses. English available.
AMS Digital Mathematics Registry Journal List
Mainly focused on older material from journals and journal-like book series that originally appeared in print but are now available in digital form. Last updated 2020.
Mathematics Journals on the Web
Partial list of journals from Northeastern University in Boston. Last updated in 2017.
DML: Digital Mathematics Library
Retroactively digitized journals and monographs from the Universität Bielefeld in Germany. Last updated in 2013.

Journal Metrics and Impact

There are several methods of calculating the quality of scientific research and the the relative importance of a journal to literature and research. Informed and careful use of impact measures is essential, and the following must be kept in mind:

The number of times a paper is cited is not a measure of its actual quality.
Certain disciplines have low numbers of journals and usage. It's best to compare journals within the same discipline.
Some tools that measure the impact data do not incorporate books.
Review articles are cited more often and can change results.
Self-citing may skew results.

For more information on journal and author metrics, please see our research guide:

Research Impact and Evaluation

Common Journal Metrics in Mathematics

Journal Citation Reports (JCRweb) (1997 - ) This link opens in a new window
Information on journal rankings and impact factors in the sciences and social sciences, based on citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.

CWTS Journal Indicators
SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper) measures actual citations received relative to citations expected and corrects for differences in citations between fields, but doesn't distinguish between document types. SNIP indicators are calculated by Leiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) from information available in Elsevier's Scopus database.
SJR: SCImago Journal and Country Rank
SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a measure of the prestige of scholarly journal that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the prestige of the journal. Rank is calculated from information available in Elsevier's Scopus database.
Eigenfactor Metrics
Eignefactor and Article Influence scores are normalized journal and article ranking metrics that account for the citation differences across disciplines. The Eigenfactor Project ranks more than 8,000 journals in the sciences and social sciences indexed in the Thomson-Reuters Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for each year 1997-2013.