Skip to main content

MLA International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals

A guide to searching and using the MLA International Bibilography and the MLA Directory of Periodicals at Washington University in St. Louis

What is the MLA International Bibliography?

Produced by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography is an online index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, journals, and books on literature, folklore, and language. Other topics covered include literary theory and criticism, film and other dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. It includes citations for materials published from 1926 to the present.

EBSCO is the vendor through which Washington University Libraries subscribes to the MLA International Bibliography. Try the search box below.

MLA International Bibliography
Limit Your Results

What is the difference between the MLA International Bibliography and the Directory of Periodicals?

The Bibliography is a database to search content matter of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, journals, and books on literature, folklore, and language. It is an ideal place to begin researching on a literary topic or a film or theatre topic.  

The Directory of Periodicals is simply a directory of publication information about the journals which are indexed in the Bibliography. The directory has facts such as how many people subscribe to a journal or information on a journal’s peer review process. It is an ideal place to learn about possible journals to submit one’s article to or gathering a list of journals relevant in one’s scholarly interests.

In the EBSCO Interface, it is possible to search both databases at the same time or seperately.