This is the "Performing Arts - Archive Sources" page of the "Performing Arts - Archive Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

Performing Arts - Archive Sources   Tags: costume, dance, fashion, fine_arts, theater, theatre, university_history, washington university in st. louis  

Research guide and primary sources for Dance, Drama, and Theater related topics
Last Updated: May 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/perform-archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Performing Arts - Archive Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

on-line exhibit

Curtain Time: Student Performing Arts at Washington University


Thumbnail: cover from Myrtle & Maroon performance of A GRAIN OF
TRUTH

This online exhibit is the story of student performing arts at Washington University told through programs, music scores, photographs, sound recordings, video, and artifacts from the University's historical record. Covering 1900 - 1997.

Collections from the Manuscripts Unit

Manuscript CollectionLocated at Special Collections, in Olin Library

joelminor@wustl.edu

 

Selected Collection at University Archives

Alumni

Mary Wickes Papers: http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=205

Mary Wickes (1910-1995) received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Washington University in St. Louis in 1930. Wickes was an actress who had a long career on stage, in film, and on television in performances including Oklahoma!, Sister Act, and The Father Dowling Mysteries. The collection documents her career, her personal life, and her time at Washington University. Also available online is the transcript to her Assembly Series Lecture from April 22, 1988.

Vincent Piacentini Papers http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=174

Vincent Piacentini (1922-1986), a graduate of the Washington University School of Fine Arts (1945), was a highly sought-after set designer, technical director, and consultant for numerous theatrical projects throughout the world. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, programs, drawings for theatre projects, and renderings of stage sets in and outside St. Louis.

Arthur Proetz Papers http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=198

Arthur Proetz (1888-1966) was a graduate of Washington University (1910) and the Washington University Medical School (1912). From 1919-1954 he served as Clinical Professor of Otolayrngology at the Washington University School of Medicine.  His collection includes:

  • Washington University Memorabilia (Series 2, Box 1) WUSTL Dramatics Club production program for “Miss Civilization” and material from various Quadrangle Club productions
  • St. Louis Memorabilia (Series 4, Box 1) including American Theatre of St. Louis programs from 1939 and unknown dates and Odeon theatre program unknown date
  • Personal Correspondence (Series 6, Box 1) that includes theatre programs of various productions in European and American theatres

 Faculty

Morris Carnovsky Papers http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=471

In 1976, Morris Carnovsky, a prominent Shakespearean actor and Washington University alum, returned to the Edison Theatre to perform the lead in “King Lear”. This collection contains material from that production, including a news release, a program, and a scrapbook containing pictures of Morris Carnovsky as King Lear.

William G.B. Carson Papers http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=455

William G. B. Carson graduated from Washington University in 1916 and later taught English and drama. He was active in staging theatrical productions at Washington University and within the St. Louis community at large. This collection is comprised of musical scores with annotations by Carson, a brief history of Thyrsus and English 16, and a photocopy of a scrapbook compiled by Carson. Additional W.G.B. Carson papers are held by the Manuscript unit of Washington University’s Department of Special Collections.

Student Groups

Thyrsus Collection http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=485

Thyrsus is the theatre club at Washington University.  This collection is comprised of texts of plays, programs, announcements, photographs, reviews, and general office correspondence from 1895-1966.

Department of English Student Plays http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=120

This collection includes students’ plays written for English classes between 1923 and 1961. This also includes a 1949 drama school report and a few photographs.

Quadrangle Club http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=480

Quadrangle Club was formed in 1910, to produce original musical comedy works by Washington University students. The collection includes photographs, programs, and other material from productions dating 1910-1963.

Photographs

Photo Services Collection – Departments & Schools http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=153 (Photographs from Performing Arts, including dance and drama and specific productions.)

 Other Reference Collections

Black Film Promotional Material Collection http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=232

This significant collection of non-film promotional material documents how blacks were portrayed in films from 1915 to 1980. The collection contains ca. 2,700 promotional items including photographic stills, programs, trade advertisements, advertising materials, advertising supplements, lobby cards, pressbooks, and posters, representing approximately 400 films, ranging in date from 1915 to the 1980s. While most of the material is of American origin, there are a small number of programs printed in Denmark and the United Kingdom that cover rare titles. Likewise, there are rare fliers, lobby cards, photographic stills, posters, and pressbooks printed in Australia, France, Germany, Latin America, Poland, Romania, and the United Kingdom.

 

Martha Graham Collection http://archon.wulib.wustl.edu/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=116

This collection is comprised of photos, programs, and planning meeting notes for a 1938 performance of the Martha Graham Dance Company in Baltimore, Maryland.

Contact Archive Staff

Owl

Sonya Rooney: 
314-935-9730 | e-mail  srooney@wustl.edu

Miranda Rectenwald: 
314-935-5444 | e-mail  mrectenwald@wustl.edu

Located
West Campus Library

Map to Archives

Hours M-F 8:30-5:00  *call or e-mail before you visit please!*

gmailhotmail

(opens e-mail in seperate window)

      

    Library Resources

    A guide to library resources about theater, dance, and drama:

    Performing Arts
    by Brad Short - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
    221 views this year
    Music
    by Brad Short - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
    Guide for all aspects of music research and study.
    216 views this year
    Mary Wickes : Her Life and Legacy
    by Miranda Rectenwald, Sonya Rooney - Last Updated Nov 4, 2013
    Resources to explore more about the life of Mary Wickes, a WUSTL alumni and well-known character actress, whose personal papers are located at University Archives.
    22 views this year
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip