If you know you are interested in doing research in a broad subject area, try to think of ways you can make your subject more specific. One way is by stating your topic as a question. For example, if you are interested in writing about sleep disorders you might ask yourself the following question: Can sleep disorders affect academic success in college students? If you don't have enough information to express your topic idea as a specific question, do some background reading first.

Consult general reference sources, e.g., an encyclopedia, before jumping into more specialized and specific searches. Encyclopedias provide information on key concepts, context, and vocabulary for many different fields. Subject-specific encyclopedias will provide additional information that may lead to ideas for additional search terms.

Use the search terms/keywords you brainstormed in Step 1: Exploring your Research Idea to search the Classic Catalog. Note where the item is located in the library and the circulation status. When you find a good book, scan the bibliography for additional sources. Look for book-length bibliographies, literature reviews, and annual reviews in your research area; this type of resource lists hundreds of books and articles in one subject area. To find these resources, use your keywords/search terms followed by the word "AND bibliographies" in the Classic Catalog.

Journal articles are a great resource for learning about cutting-edge research in your area. Indexes and databases allow you to search across many journal publishers at once to find citations, abstracts, and full-text to articles.

As you search and find citations and/or abstracts for specific books, articles, or websites, consider the following established criteria for evaluating the quality of books, journal articles, and websites.

When conducting research, it’s necessary to document sources you use; commonly, this is called citing your sources. Citing your sources is an important part of research and scholarship; it is important to give credit to the ideas of others. In addition, readers of your work may want to find and read some of the sources you used. Different academic disciplines follow different citation styles. Two of the more common citation styles are APA or MLA. Failing to cite properly is plagiarism. For further details on other aspects of plagiarism, consult WU’s Academic Integrity Policy.